DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:02 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:39 am 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19666
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 636 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
no you just need a freeveiw box
vcrs are old hat[video cassette recorders]
http://www.google.com/search?q=video%20 ... 60&bih=632

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:40 pm
Posts: 3765
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 634 times
Been thanked: 671 times
But come on Big All what the happens when you are walking down the corridor, on the way to the second gantry say, and you want to watch television - you're completely screwed then.

You would actually have to move into a new room to watch the tv. :shock:

Personally I could not cope and have had a tv / vcr / digisat gaffer taped to my arm at all times.

_________________
To err is human.

http://www.bristoldecorator.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:10 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
Just to throw in another suggestion here, as I'm guessing most people here are going to be posting on comptuers......

Windows XP Media Center
Windows Vista Home Premium and Ultimate
Windows 7 Home Premium and Ultimate

All of the above come with Media Center built in that is Free View capable if you have a TV tuner in your computer. Granted, most don't, but you can get one for very little money (20 quid?).

The desktop I have here uses a PCi card internally so I can record two channels or watch 1 and record another. I can also plug in another to record 4 channels at the same time.

Laptops are easily connected to your LCD/Plasma screens if you want to view the recordings on the big screens - so many things people don't take advantage of.

The other good news is games consoles - you can get a TV kit for the PS3 which lets you pause, record and view freeview.

Just some food for thought!

BG

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:20 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:40 pm
Posts: 3765
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 634 times
Been thanked: 671 times
The PS3 is also a very good DVD and Bluray player.

I have a samsung BD c8500 - Bluray player, HD recorder, wirelessly connects to laptop, web browser with Lovefilm app, Freeview+ receiver. All for £160 from fleabay.

The best thing it the Lovefilm app we can stream any of 4,000 + movies at above DVD quality. Simply the best service currently available. I think it is worth finding out if your television supports smoothing / judder removal before going for this though.

_________________
To err is human.

http://www.bristoldecorator.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:36 pm 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19666
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 636 times
Been thanked: 1798 times
nahh its simple
you can have as many signals traveling along the arial you just choose the ones you want to watch
if you need to watch a freeveiw channel and traveling back to the center is to much you just plug in a £20-30 freeveiw box and watch what you like :thumbright:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9495
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 1676 times
Blueray? Who uses THAT? Blueray is the modern equivalent of Betamax - much the same way as 3D TV is headed :lol:

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Troll Headbutter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 8052
Location: On top of a mountain, in the long grass.
Has thanked: 554 times
Been thanked: 1041 times
Nought wrong with bluray - people are too quick to skip to the download-ables to appriciate the AUDIO that goes with a film.

Everyone is all about the picture and screen these days. Thinner, sleeker, smaller bezels - well, where does the speakers live in this arrangement?

I've got a home theatre amp, not the piddly all in one kits that lights up like a pretty christmas tree when it sees a DTS-HD master audio track pass it's lovely inner workings to provide a rich beautiful immersive sound when you watch a film.

It's like going from your analogue TV to HD - your ears open up and 'see' a new part to a film.

I remember watching a film with the missis and she paused it and made me go to check the front garden....she could hear a tapping on the window. It was the film - but the rear channels were so crisp, it was scary! World apart from the pap they peddle on TV and low bitrate dvd steams.

BG

_________________
Arguing with a woman is like reading a Software Licence Agreement.
In the end, you ignore everything and click "I agree".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9495
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 1676 times
In a similar vein they make super HQ audio CDROMs these days but most people listen to audio via a 320kb/s (or lower) MPEG file on their iPods......

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 10:05 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2462
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 513 times
Realised hardly ever watch TV in kitchen so removed 22 inch cathode ray and replaced with 14 inch cathode ray. Schineider with built in VHS and on screen programming what ever that is. Worked OK last time used before freeview came in but now can find how to tune it in the the freesat box which has replaced the old aerials we had before analogue was switched off. At the moment can only watch tapes the TV bit is not working.

I still have analogue piped around the house taken from Sky+ box and HDD/DVD recorder so two channels. Any idea how to tune TV without a remote. Tried host of remotes which are universal but can't find correct code.

Second is there any way to get the time through a sky, freesat, or freeview box. Before change over the HDD/DVD would auto set time from BBC but now can't find a way to auto set time which drifts slightly over the year.

So at moment have to record tape in bedroom TV connected to old sky box then transfer and play in kitchen. Long term going to run LAN cable and use old laptop so can watch films on main LAN hard drive and also show instructions for kitchen stuff but TV would be nice at Christmas.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 10:38 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9495
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 327 times
Been thanked: 1676 times
Check for hidden panels that cover manual tuning buttons (or allow access to a menu). If you don't find one then without a remote control you're stuffed. Lower edge of the casing is often the place to look.

Time signals cannot be extracted as they used to come from the old Ceefax signals, now defunct.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:10 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:53 pm
Posts: 27
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Dont you need an AV channel to watch videos ,freeview etc or am I going too far back in the past. Also the silver flatscreen/widescreen tv's that came out before the present generation plasma/lcd tv's can now be brought second hand for next to nothing. These have all the scart connections at the back and will work perfectly well with all digital set ups.

Quote:
Second is there any way to get the time through a sky, freesat, or freeview box. Before change over the HDD/DVD would auto set time from BBC but now can't find a way to auto set time which drifts slightly over the year.


I thought usually on sky and freeview it shows the time on the info bar that comes up when you change the channel on the right hand side.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:01 pm 
Offline
Lemming

Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:03 pm
Posts: 774
Location: Hull
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 56 times
It was reported yesterday that 13,000 of us Brits still use a black and white TV - or at least they still buy a B&W license :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:42 pm
Posts: 192
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 27 times
ericmark wrote:
Realised hardly ever watch TV in kitchen so removed 22 inch cathode ray and replaced with 14 inch cathode ray. Schineider with built in VHS and on screen programming what ever that is. Worked OK last time used before freeview came in but now can find how to tune it in the the freesat box which has replaced the old aerials we had before analogue was switched off. At the moment can only watch tapes the TV bit is not working.
I still have analogue piped around the house taken from Sky+ box and HDD/DVD recorder so two channels. Any idea how to tune TV without a remote. Tried host of remotes which are universal but can't find correct code.


According to here http://www.digitalsat.co.uk/skyremotecodes.html you should be able to do it with your Sky remote.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO