DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:57 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:48 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Not sure if this is the right place to post but I've come across this forum on Tapatalk while looking for electrical diy. I'm trying to construct a float switch to control a dc pump. I'm guessing this could be done via the float switch and a relay? The switch needs to turn off when the float is activated. Can this be done?would someone be able to draw up a circuit? And component list?

Many thanks

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:05 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2648
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
Most float switches are a simple weight and micro switch so when dangling from wire it is on and when fully floating off, it can be latching relays and two floats or a single float with the cable tethered often to the pump, in some cases the float only turns on the pump, low load when it draws air turns it off.

What decides it a lot of the time is what is being pumped, foam can upset probes and proximity detectors so no option but use floats, but swirling water can upset floats, so first what do you actually want to control, I have seen a plastic pipe with a float and magnet and reed switches, there are so many ways.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:12 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
ericmark wrote:
Most float switches are a simple weight and micro switch so when dangling from wire it is on and when fully floating off, it can be latching relays and two floats or a single float with the cable tethered often to the pump, in some cases the float only turns on the pump, low load when it draws air turns it off.

What decides it a lot of the time is what is being pumped, foam can upset probes and proximity detectors so no option but use floats, but swirling water can upset floats, so first what do you actually want to control, I have seen a plastic pipe with a float and magnet and reed switches, there are so many ways.

I've done more googling and I need a normally closed float switch.basically I want to control a pumps power to a tank to prevent overflowing just as a failsafe really...

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7688
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
The big float switches are easy. (I cut one open to make sure the noise was a ball) Ball bearing, micro switch. It really is that simple. But the problem is making it 100% water tight. I wouldn't bother making one, I would buy one, smaller ones less than £5, but will need a relay, as they use a reed switch. Big ones with a ball bearing and micro switch £8

Did you know you can buy A.C. mains pumps with float switches already connected?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7688
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times


I made a video clip of one (different reason) for a forum member.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:20 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:43 pm
Posts: 10
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
The big float switches are easy. (I cut one open to make sure the noise was a ball) Ball bearing, micro switch. It really is that simple. But the problem is making it 100% water tight. I wouldn't bother making one, I would buy one, smaller ones less than £5, but will need a relay, as they use a reed switch. Big ones with a ball bearing and micro switch £8

Did you know you can buy A.C. mains pumps with float switches already connected?

Yeah I am aware you can buy such things but I don't think it will suit my needs. Where would be the bedt place to collect a float switch? I have very limited space to work with.

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7688
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
ebay. (No really) Float switch.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 11:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9936
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 337 times
Been thanked: 1760 times
Get a float switch that suits. It will come with a switch (microswitch usually) attached and stamped on the microswitch, right beside the connecting terminals, will be three sets of letters:

c = common
n.o. = normally open
n.c = normally closed

Apply your power (live) to the 'c' terminal and take the power out from 'n.c' (for a normally-closed operation).
The neutral wire just goes to where the neutral always did.

Make sure the switch is rated to carry the current drawn by the load i.e. you can't use a switch rated at 2A to switch a load rated at 5A. Microswitches can come in a number of different ratings.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:51 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2648
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
How much DIY do you want to do? Image The three probe method is simple, no floats, also Image depends if DIY or ready built. Many other options sure you could use androno boards to do it today.

Here is another example it depends what you want to do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Float switch
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:35 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:41 pm
Posts: 1420
Location: Wiltshire
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 213 times
I made a simple one for our re-enactment society's Early Medieval Costal Trading Vessel (to small to be a Viking longship....) consisting of a ball cock from a toilet cistern, a microswitch and a 12 volt submersible pump for caravan water systems. The whole thing was run from a 12 volt car battery topped up by a solar panel mounted on the mast.

_________________
When all you have is a hammer, every problem is a nail.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO