DIY Forum

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu May 24, 2018 11:06 am
Visit Hilti

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:45 am 
Newly registered Member

Hi, complete newb here so tell me if I'm doing this wrong!
We've just moved into a 1930s house that was last decorated in the early '90s, textured wallpaper everywhere!
Not to our taste so I'm trying to make some DYI improvements. I have no idea what I'm doing but Google and YouTube are helping. I even managed to change a gutter union after watching the ultimate handyman video on YouTube!
Here's my question(s):
1. I've stripped the wallpaper in the bedroom and I'm left with some flaky stuff on the bare walls. Is this old paint? What's the best way to prep the wall for painting? I don't feel confident with lining paper.
2. There was an old '30s electric heater stuck to the wall. I chiselled it off and filled most of the hole with mortar. I'm planning on filling the rest with Gyproc Easi Filler to get a smooth finish. Would that be the way to go?
Any help would be very much appreciated!!
Photos attached

Attachments:
File comment: Electric heater fill
4.jpg
4.jpg [ 460.85 KiB | Viewed 555 times ]
3.jpg
3.jpg [ 451.21 KiB | Viewed 555 times ]
2.jpg
2.jpg [ 436.4 KiB | Viewed 555 times ]
1.jpg
1.jpg [ 420.65 KiB | Viewed 555 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:04 pm 

1. That is paint on the wall, the creamy colour was the magnolia of the day back then..its probably a distemper or limewash..it has been panted over with modern paints which are not compatible..and they have been 'eaten' at by the paste as well..basically if the wall was a horse or a dog it would be put down.