DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:59 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:27 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi folks,

I have attached a 3 gang light switch but it is not lining up properly as you can see from the photo. Space in the back box is extremely limited as there are 6 lots of twin core and earth 1.5mm thickness cable. I have tried an initial adjustment but this is as good as what I can get it. Are there any tricks of the trade to have the plate moved over to cover more of the side of the photo that I have taken.

Thanks

Ray


Attachments:
Light.jpg
Light.jpg [ 48.44 KiB | Viewed 574 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:25 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2398
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 497 times
I had same problem using a WiFi light switch, I fitted a deeper back box. Other option is fit a switch which is not as deep, or fit a plaster protector they will push switch out that mm your short of.



For this message the author ericmark has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 133
Has thanked: 457 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Deeper back box is the solution

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:41 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2331
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 481 times
Is this a dry liner back box?

eg something like this

http://www.screwfix.com/p/appleby-1-gan ... -box/44827



For this message the author OnlyMe has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:05 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 2:27 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi, this is a dry lining box. I saw your post and you have guided me down the track of using a 47mm recess box rather than the 35mm recess box. Sometimes I don't know where my brain is ;)

Let you know how I go.



For this message the author knights has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 133
Has thanked: 457 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Great keep us posted whenever there are more wires you need to use deeper back box

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 9:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:56 am
Posts: 233
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 56 times
I still don't think you will move it over any more. I think it is due to the design of that flat plate switch combined with the dry liner box.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 9:53 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2331
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 481 times
Morbius wrote:
I still don't think you will move it over any more. I think it is due to the design of that flat plate switch combined with the dry liner box.


That is why I asked if it was a dry liner box. I think that we are both thinking the same thing.

Often the design of the box stops flat plate accessories fitting flush. You have to cut off some of the plastic where the cables enter the box and sometimes the lugs on the back box get in the way of the switch and need cutting down.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO