DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:36 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fitting Nest Hello
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:50 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:21 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi All.

This is my first time on the site so hope I get some good answers. I am trying to fit nest hello doorbell.

My problem is it says it need 12v ac to 20v ac. I have 10 v ac on the current wired doorbell and the floor above is tiled.

I cant find the transformer as i guess it is in the floor void above the bell but i cant get to it.

Is there an easy way to find the transformer or is there a simple way to step the volage up to the required level.

Thanks in advance

Dave


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fitting Nest Hello
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:12 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
Are you sure the transformer is not either in or near the consumers unit? (You can get some that are designed to be installed in the consumers unit, next to the MCB's (you don't have to remove anything to find out)

Failing that you could run a new cable to a new transformer.

Other than that the answers to your questions are both no. :roll:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fitting Nest Hello
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2643
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
I suppose you could use a transformer with a 10 and 20 volt output using just seconary as an auto transformer, so yes possible, but don't think that is really a good idea.

Personally I would try using 10 volt first, you may find it works OK.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fitting Nest Hello
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 8:58 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:21 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
ericmark wrote:
I suppose you could use a transformer with a 10 and 20 volt output using just seconary as an auto transformer, so yes possible, but don't think that is really a good idea.

Personally I would try using 10 volt first, you may find it works OK.


Thanks. I have looked for such a transformer online and I cant find one. I did try it today but nest is too ckever and ir shows low voltage.

Any links to transformer would be good.

Also to reply to 1st pist. I checked consumer unit and it is hanging off the lighting circuit and doesnt have its own switch.

Cheers

Dave


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fitting Nest Hello
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 9:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
Djidave wrote:
Thanks. I have looked for such a transformer online and I cant find one.


Must try harder. I have just seen one that is advertised as a "nest hello suitable transformer"

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Fitting Nest Hello
PostPosted: Sun Jul 22, 2018 9:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
.............just seen another one, that is identical and for less £. If i keep going i might get one for free (Also found one in America, postage is £23 :? )

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO