DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 3:56 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7838
Has thanked: 400 times
Been thanked: 1445 times
Not sure if this fits electrical or vehicle maintenance, so in the search for a wider audience I'll stick it in here. :-)

Got a hoist fitted in the front of the van now to lift the wife in and out. It plugs in to a socket which is tricky to get at: the fitter did say that he wasn't able to mount the unit any other way. I can get the plug in and out (needs doing each time it's used) but it's harder than is ideal.

I'm thinking that a short extension lead could be left in and would give me much easier access.

Is there a specific name for this type of plug?

Is it something I could buy the bits for make up myself?

Attachment:
1 modified.jpg
1 modified.jpg [ 387.42 KiB | Viewed 853 times ]


Attachment:
2 modified.jpg
2 modified.jpg [ 445.91 KiB | Viewed 853 times ]


Attachment:
3 modified.jpg
3 modified.jpg [ 318.44 KiB | Viewed 853 times ]


Attachment:
4 modified.jpg
4 modified.jpg [ 299.84 KiB | Viewed 853 times ]


Attachment:
5 modified.jpg
5 modified.jpg [ 487.39 KiB | Viewed 853 times ]


Yes, that's a bit of me, naked, in pic 4. :shock: :mrgreen: Calm down, it's only a bit of a leg. :roll:

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:18 pm 
Offline
Old School Chippie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:27 pm
Posts: 5767
Location: Lancashire
Has thanked: 715 times
Been thanked: 1463 times
It looks like an IEC plug. Extensions are available from CPC Farnell, amongst others

_________________
"The person who never made a mistake, never made anything" - Albert Einstein

"I too will something make, And joy in the making" - Robert Bridges, 1844~1930



For this message the author Job and Knock has received gratitude : ayjay
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:19 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Posts: 3137
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 682 times
It's an IEC connector. Easy to find as bare plugs for you to make your own little extension. I use one for powering my lathe powerfeed even though it's rather overkill.

I dont see any reason you couldn't leave the extension plugged in all the time, the contacts are enclosed in the male part.



For this message the author Rorschach has received gratitude : ayjay
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10001
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 338 times
Been thanked: 1768 times
Some older PC systems used to use such an extension to take AC from a socket on the back of the PC case to the monitor.

Here's one I found first go on eBay although there are cheaper ones on there too.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/IEC-2M-10-Am ... 0281.m3567

Sometimes cheaper (and certainly easier) to get one 'made up'. If you have a local PC repair shop anywhere nearby, drop in and ask for one - they'll probably have a bucket load.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received gratitude : ayjay
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7838
Has thanked: 400 times
Been thanked: 1445 times
Thanks all, just got to find an old kettle lead now to check that it fits, I must have one somewhere.

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7838
Has thanked: 400 times
Been thanked: 1445 times
ayjay wrote:
Thanks all, just got to find an old kettle lead now to check that it fits, I must have one somewhere.


No kettle leads found, I must have chucked out the two old and slightly leaky kettles put aside for an emergency and only kept the old and slightly leaky one with a sit-on base. (I'll probably trip over one tomorrow).

I did find a PC lead which fits just fine, so an extension is on it's way from eBay. :-)

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 433
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Too late now of course but Plus 1 for CPC Farnell, Plus 77 for old fashioned computer shops and, probably, car boot sales. One of your neighbours probably had one in his shed/loft. Fleabay should have been cheap enough to avoid running around.

Yes leave the extension plugged in, the female end will be safe when disconnected.

Technically, for anybody else looking, it is an IEC C13 (male) to C14 (female) lead rated for 70°C. Kettle leads (C15/C16) are officially very slightly different for higher temperatures.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEC_60320


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 11:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7838
Has thanked: 400 times
Been thanked: 1445 times
arco_iris wrote:
Fleabay should have been cheap enough to avoid running around.



£1.49 & free postage - eBay does save a lot of running around, although I must have wasted an hour looking for my old kettle leads! :cussing:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/0-5m-Power-E ... 1438.l2649

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 659
Location: Worcestershire/Warwickshire/Gloucestershire (ish)
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 85 times
ayjay wrote:
ayjay wrote:

I did find a PC lead which fits just fine, so an extension is on it's way from eBay. :-)


Best wishes. I'd just say that I'd be wary of the Amps. Not of the connector, moreso the cable.

Do you know what size fuse the 'fitter' fitted (sounds like a tongue twister :roll: ) as that will determine the size of cable needed for the extension lead.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 9:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 433
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 92 times
Grumps wrote:
ayjay wrote:
ayjay wrote:

I did find a PC lead which fits just fine, so an extension is on it's way from eBay. :-)


Best wishes. I'd just say that I'd be wary of the Amps. Not of the connector, moreso the cable.

Do you know what size fuse the 'fitter' fitted (sounds like a tongue twister :roll: ) as that will determine the size of cable needed for the extension lead.


Whilst proprietry IEC leads are available with 0.50mm2, 0.75mm2 & 1.00mm2 cable for different loads, at Ayjay's 12 volts this is unlikely to be an issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 10:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7851
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
arco_iris wrote:
at Ayjay's 12 volts this is unlikely to be an issue.


Sorry to not agree. Its not the voltage that is the problem, its the current, so it can be an issue, cable too thin could easily melt if too much current is drawn.

Take an Arc welder as an example. Typical output voltage is around 48. But the current can be anything around 120A +

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:30 am 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Posts: 3137
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 682 times
someone-else wrote:
Typical output voltage is around 48. But the current can be anything around 120A +


More like 24v at that kind of amperage (assuming 13amp plug).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 8:13 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7851
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1334 times
Rorschach wrote:
More like 24v at that kind of amperage (assuming 13amp plug).


I googled it, (I thought the voltage was lower) seems that most are 48v (open circuit voltage) and yes on a 13A plug, it was the current that varies, if its has a 20A supply not the voltage (one that went up to 150A said you only get 120A on a 13A plug, but around 150A on a 20A supply)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 12:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7838
Has thanked: 400 times
Been thanked: 1445 times
It hasn't blown up yet.

The plug fitted by the manufacturers is 10amp, as is the one I bought, the extension cable I bought is slightly thicker in appearance if anything, just by a mm or so.

I'll not be losing any sleep over it. :-)

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 659
Location: Worcestershire/Warwickshire/Gloucestershire (ish)
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 85 times
someone-else wrote:

Sorry to not agree. Its not the voltage that is the problem, its the current, so it can be an issue, cable too thin could easily melt if too much current is drawn.



That is the point I was making. Amps is a function of Watts/Volts.

For any given 'load' a lower Voltage will result in a higher Amperage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO