DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 4:50 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Electricity Usage
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:20 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I'm having a nightmare in my house with the amount of electricity we're using. Currently going through 10,000 kw/hrs a year at an average of nearly 28 a day. Obviously this is costing me a fortune. Over the last few weeks I've become totally obsessed with this, reading my meter every morning and night, noting what appliances are on when etc etc.

Overnight from 10pm to 7am I'm going through on average 9kw/hr even when unplugging everything other than the fridge, the only other thing on is the central heating (gas). It's off from 9pm to 6am when it comes on for 1hr for hot water and heating for the day (currently). My gas boiler is more than 15 years old, is it possible that it's using all the electricity, that's basically the only answer I have left :cussing:


Top
 Profile  
 

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:23 am
Posts: 1168
Location: Down on the Farm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 77 times
do you have a modern meter or the old type with a rotating disk?

If its the old type try watching the d*ck while pulling your fuses or tripping off the mcb's and see which circuit has the biggest effect.

With the modern type you have to watch the flashing lights the faster they flash the more power you are using.

Is your immersion switched on?
Is your fridge or freezer overly cold?
Has a 500w pir light got stuck on?

Trial and error is the name of the game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:07 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I've got an old style meter and I've been through the plug, unplug trial and error stuff, which has basically lead me to the heating. I was under the impression I had gas central heating which fed hot water into a storage cylinder, however following your reply I went and investigated my airing cupboard and took the following photos. Looks like I have three pumps/valves underneath, a control panel in the middle and what looks like a thermostat and electric heater attached to the hot water cylinder above the boiler. There doesn't seem to be any way of switching the electric heater off independently of the boiler, so I assume it's on off time is dictated by the control panel. So with all the above and the fact that I only have the hot water set to come on for 1 hr morning and night, could this really be eating 300-4000 Kw'hrs a year?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:10 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
photos


Attachments:
File comment: pumps & valves
100_1936.JPG
100_1936.JPG [ 92.37 KiB | Viewed 426 times ]
File comment: thermostat and electric heater?
100_1940.JPG
100_1940.JPG [ 60.87 KiB | Viewed 426 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:14 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
further photos, any help much appreciated


Attachments:
100_1939.JPG
100_1939.JPG [ 67.95 KiB | Viewed 424 times ]
100_1938.JPG
100_1938.JPG [ 68.56 KiB | Viewed 424 times ]
100_1937.JPG
100_1937.JPG [ 68.89 KiB | Viewed 424 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:26 pm 
Online
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 15448
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 306 times
Been thanked: 994 times
as jamesy says 500w security light if you have 2 on for 9 hrs =9kw so jamed on 24=24kw

do you have any heaters in garage shed or greenhouse!!!

lights in the attic

emmersion is the favorate though

central heating around 150 to 300w pump and electronics

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Last edited by big-all on Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:23 am
Posts: 1168
Location: Down on the Farm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 77 times
The red box on the cylinder with "howden" on it the white cable where does it go to a fused spur? if so is it turned on?
Close up photo please.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:50 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Photo attached, still not great quality due to site limits. No sign of any switch.

does this mean I've got an immersion heater running 24hrs a day? It would also explain why I'm still using 22 Kw'hrs a day in the middle of summer.

White cable into box, grey cable out goes down wall underneath floor and I assume into fuse box at front of house.


Attachments:
100_1943.jpg
100_1943.jpg [ 67.93 KiB | Viewed 410 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:57 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
big-all wrote:
as jamesy says 500w security light if you have 2 on for 9 hrs =9kw so jamed on 24=24kw

do you have any heaters in garage shed or greenhouse!!!

lights in the attic

emmersion is the favorate though

central heating around 150 to 300w pump and electronics


no security lights, garage sheds or greenhouses!! Assuming the worst central heating would be 300w, giving around 4kw a day in winter. Addedd onto me assuming the worst for every other appliance I'm still only at 7400 per year, leaving me 2600 short.

1412 kw/hr Lights

2438 Kw/hr Tumble dryer 3.34 Kw/hr 365 times a year x 2hrs

520 Kw/hr fridge Freezer samsung RS21DCNS 24hrs a day

376 Washing Machine 365 washes @ 1.03 Kw/hr

905 Dishwasher = 1.24 Kw/hr per cycle 2 a day

727 TV 249w per hr @ 8 hrs a day

20 Sky Box 24hrs a day

110 Laptop 50w x 6hrs x 365

Oven

121 Small TV 55w per hr @ 6hrs a day

114 Hard drive recorder

55 Shower Pump 300w at 30mins per day

657 central heating system @ 300w per hr @ 6hrs a day x 365

7455


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 5:32 pm
Posts: 237
Location: East Sussex
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 7 times
If there is no means of switching your immersion heater off then yes I would almost certainly say it is running on constant, this would also explain the high useage.

Is there a seperate fuse on your consumer unit for the immersion?

_________________
ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐl ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:11 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
17edSparkyJoe wrote:
If there is no means of switching your immersion heater off then yes I would almost certainly say it is running on constant, this would also explain the high useage.

Is there a seperate fuse on your consumer unit for the immersion?


Not sure, need to get under the floor and follow the cable. Next question then is if it is on constantly is it's aim to keep the tank full of water at the temp set on the thermostat and does it use much electricity maintaining a full tank??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 5:32 pm
Posts: 237
Location: East Sussex
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 7 times
It will keep the tank at the temperature set on the internal thermostat in the heater. An immersion heater is generally 3000w, although obviously this will cut in and out depending on tank temperature. Is your fuse board not marked as to which fuse is which circuit?

_________________
ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐl ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:33 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
17edSparkyJoe wrote:
It will keep the tank at the temperature set on the internal thermostat in the heater. An immersion heater is generally 3000w, although obviously this will cut in and out depending on tank temperature. Is your fuse board not marked as to which fuse is which circuit?


it is marked, no immersion heater, but there are a couple of blanks. when you say 3000W what does that mean?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:44 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 5:32 pm
Posts: 237
Location: East Sussex
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 7 times
3KW. It should (although not always the case) be wired on its own individual circuit. Are there any switches unaccounted for in your house? Sometimes the immersion heater switch is positioned in a more accessible place than the immersion heater cupboard. I would suggest that seeing as you have accounted for almost everything else this is the cause of your enormous consumption.

Get a sparky round to trace out the circuit and fit an isolator for the immersion, he should be able to give you some tips on energy saving too. Before you know it you'll be as energy efficient as an Eskimo in David Cameron's house. :lol:

_________________
ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐl ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:48 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 22
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
17edSparkyJoe wrote:
3KW. It should (although not always the case) be wired on its own individual circuit. Are there any switches unaccounted for in your house? Sometimes the immersion heater switch is positioned in a more accessible place than the immersion heater cupboard. I would suggest that seeing as you have accounted for almost everything else this is the cause of your enormous consumption.

Get a sparky round to trace out the circuit and fit an isolator for the immersion, he should be able to give you some tips on energy saving too. Before you know it you'll be as energy efficient as an Eskimo in David Cameron's house. :lol:


thanks for your help Joe, luckily sparks is the one thing I have access to!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next



Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 



phpBB SEO