DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:11 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Electrical mains box
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:09 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:12 am
Posts: 25
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
The wife asked me to post this.

The electrical mains box outside the house door is broken.
I know how it was broken.....a boot
The last owners husband handiwork is all over the house.
Internal doors walls and such like.

How do I go about replacing the plastic box outside the house ?
Do I need to get an electrican in to do the job ?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Electrical mains box
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22438
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1341 times
Been thanked: 3406 times
Is the actual box broken or just the door ?? if the door post a pic (or three). may be replaceable

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Electrical mains box
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:23 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:12 am
Posts: 25
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
The whole thing.
I found out that only the supplier can replace the box as the supply has to come out.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Electrical mains box
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:22 am 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:20 pm
Posts: 2981
Has thanked: 899 times
Been thanked: 888 times
I remembered seeing these a while back.
http://www.meterboxes.co.uk/products/me ... boxes.html
Could be an answer?
If you do get a new box fitted, box might be cheaper from somewhere like that site as well. There are several online.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Electrical mains box
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:27 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Supplier will charge to replace I believe, a qualified electrician will be able to carry out you can smash out old and make grooves in new one using jigsaw or multitool and fit new one, otherwise dno will have to get involved as supplier only works after fuse, dno works road to fuse so could be very costly to go down that route.

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO