DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:56 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Electric Oven Hob wiring
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 1:00 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:55 am
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi all,
I'm looking for some advice on replacing my built-in oven and hob, on removing the old oven and hob I find two separate 4mm flat grey wiring, not 6mm as I was expecting, and on looking behind the outlets it's 4mm flat grey wire up to the switch. Now for the question, should I fit 4mm wiring from the first out on the wall to the oven and then to the hob and then back to the second outlet on the wall. (drawing two)
I have attached a crude drawing to show a bit better than my explanation. The first picture number one is as the cooker was wired with 4mm grey flat cable, the second picture is as I thought it should be wired to maintain the circuit ring. Or is it ok just to wire it as original, one wire to the oven and then one to the hob (drawing one)?
Because there are two separated units.
Many thanks in advance for any advice Mike.


Attachments:
OVEN HOB.jpg
OVEN HOB.jpg [ 55.7 KiB | Viewed 574 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:38 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2632
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 570 times
:welcomeuhm:

Are the two appliances on the same circuit?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:35 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:55 am
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Yes, the appliances are on the same circuit. one cooker main switch and one 32amp trip fuse


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:40 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2632
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 570 times
There is no need to make this into a ring. In fact if you did you would need to switch off both switches to turn the appliances off.

You have a perfectly normal radial circuit.



For this message the author OnlyMe has received gratitude : Mike GF
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:16 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:55 am
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
That's great you have put my mind at rest, I will just wire it up as it was. I'm glad I found this forum :thumbright: Thanks for your help OnlyMe.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO