DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Aug 28, 2014 10:14 am


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 1:10 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:56 pm
Posts: 98
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi

I will be having some work done on the lighting in the bathroom.
I am told that in order to get a Part P certificate the circuit will need to have a RCD on it.

So the main fuse box will have the 'old style' fuse replaced with a RCD and as part of that the two earth wire (one going to the gas pipe and one going to the main water pipe) may have to be replaced :dunno: .

There are already earth cable going to the two pipes, what size do that have to be and how do I measure them :scratch: ?

The repalceing the one for the gas pipe is not a problem as the pipe right next to the fuse box, the main water pipe is not !

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:50 pm
Posts: 163
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 5 times
newdud wrote:
Hi

I will be having some work done on the lighting in the bathroom.
I am told that in order to get a Part P certificate the circuit will need to have a RCD on it.

So the main fuse box will have the 'old style' fuse replaced with a RCD and as part of that the two earth wire (one going to the gas pipe and one going to the main water pipe) may have to be replaced :dunno: .

There are already earth cable going to the two pipes, what size do that have to be and how do I measure them :scratch: ?

The repalceing the one for the gas pipe is not a problem as the pipe right next to the fuse box, the main water pipe is not !

Thanks

Hi in general the circuit protective conductor (main bond) from utilities ie gas 600mm from the inlet tap is usually 10mm. the main bond from the supply company is usually 16mm. it has to be unbroken from pipe to consumer unit. and labelled accordingly.
best bet for measuring is get a sample from B&Q or somewhere like that.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:02 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:21 pm
Posts: 6541
Location: Northampton
Has thanked: 158 times
Been thanked: 588 times
starterforone wrote:
Hi in general the circuit protective conductor (main bond) from utilities ie gas 600mm from the inlet tap is usually 10mm.



Almost!

The bond on the gas has to be within 600mm of the outlet of the meter and before any pipes tee off OR at the point of entry inside property :wink:

_________________
As always help on here is free, however if you think you have saved a decent sum of money why not click the link to find out about the charity we're currently supporting? A couple of quid makes a real difference.

donnas-dream-house-charity-t52110.html



For this message the author Razor has received gratitude : newdud
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:10 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 11:56 pm
Posts: 98
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thankyou to every one that posted a reply, I think I undersant the requirement now in terms the size of the cable. :roll:
I googled it and thought 10mm cable would be an iron rod ! :?

Is there a requirement two bonds ! i.e. water and gas


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 8:11 pm
Posts: 2257
Location: Staffordshire
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 149 times
Yes the regs state that you have to bond the gas and water , the cable can serve both but must be UNBROKEN at the earth clamp ie looped round the screw and not cut .

Nick

_________________
If it isnt broke dont bloody touch it until it bloody well is and if it is broke then make drawing of the connections before you remove the broken one and replace with a new one LoL


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:27 pm
Posts: 287
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 8 times
sparkydude wrote:
Yes the regs state that you have to bond the gas and water , the cable can serve both but must be UNBROKEN at the earth clamp ie looped round the screw and not cut .

Nick


I was going to ask about joining earth cables but I think you've answered it here. I can't extend an existing cable to go from the CU to the water can I?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:54 am 
Offline
Pro Tradesman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:24 pm
Posts: 7032
Location: Spondon, Derby
Has thanked: 147 times
Been thanked: 296 times
wadge wrote:
sparkydude wrote:
Yes the regs state that you have to bond the gas and water , the cable can serve both but must be UNBROKEN at the earth clamp ie looped round the screw and not cut .

Nick


I was going to ask about joining earth cables but I think you've answered it here. I can't extend an existing cable to go from the CU to the water can I?



no i'm afraid you can't.

just to add to the other posts: -

when connecting the wires to the clamps for cross-bonding or single connections to the water/gas service, it is advisable to use lugs with a ratchet crimping tool. people that splay the cores & cram them into the clamp are not doing it properly. if you wiggle them they come out, lugged they do not.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 2:14 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:11 pm
Posts: 23
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 3 times
I think there are slightly different rules for TN (TN-C-S or TN-S) and TT supplies. If the earth comes from the supply then you should ignore me. For a TT supply it may be OK to keep the old 6mm² bonding as per Figure 2.3 in the OSG.

If all circuits will be protected by RCDs or RCBOs, I don't understand why it is required to upgrade bonding conductors on TN systems when it is not required for TT systems with a local earth. Sure, if you want to have circuits without any RCD protection on a TN system then I can see the need for a chunky bonding conductor.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 



Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ericmark and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 



phpBB SEO