DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Mar 25, 2019 8:30 pm


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 9:21 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 950
Location: Buckinghamshire
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Morning Guys,
I have the above controller for my Worcester-Bosch 42CDi and yesterday I went to turn on the heating for the first time in a while and noticed after turning up the heating temp the " red alarm" led was lit on the digistat and even though the green led on the digistat flash and the boiler started to kick in the red led alarm stayed on and the boiler never started the heating, now I have hot water so that is all ok and theres no fault codes coming up on the boiler, but my question is is the red led alarm staying on because there is a fault with the digistat or because there is a fault with the wireless controller? I have changed the batteries on the wireless controller and gone through the "learn mode/pairing" the two units again although its been fine for over 5 years.
Any ideas where the fault may be? The digistat, the wireless controller or the boiler? :help:


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:45 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6995
Has thanked: 840 times
Been thanked: 941 times
Usually, but not always I end up replacing the whole lot when the red led is on.

Awful stats imo.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 2:49 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 950
Location: Buckinghamshire
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Thanks Gas4you,
What stat would you recommend?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:40 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6995
Has thanked: 840 times
Been thanked: 941 times
I tend to fit the Honeywell stats or programmable stats.

Not perfect, but then what is these days, but simple to use.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 950
Location: Buckinghamshire
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Gas4you
I have the receiver and controller paired up and now when I turn up the temperature up on the controller the red light flashes on the receiver then the green light comes on but the boiler doesn’t fire up the heating? Is there a way of bypassing the receiver and wiring it up so the heating comes on all the time and then I control the heating on the boiler? :help: as I’m bloody freezing :cb


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6995
Has thanked: 840 times
Been thanked: 941 times
Only if you feel competent to remove the receiver wiring in the boiler wiring block and link the two terminals out

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 950
Location: Buckinghamshire
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
I’m confident enough, is it the black and yellow wires go into the same terminal?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:34 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8506
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1448 times
A guess, no, because they are already in the same terminal.

Also it depends on what colours who ever installed it chose to use.

A picture would help

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:36 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:37 pm
Posts: 505
Location: Coventry
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 79 times
Refer to Dia 8 on page 28 or 30 depending on which revision of the installation manual you have.

Connect a link across LS and LR on connector block ST10 in the boiler.

As the others have said please only attempt this if you feel competent, as you are dealing with 240v mains on those terminals, so make sure the boiler is fully isolated from the mains before carrying out any work.


Attachments:
Block ST10.jpg
Block ST10.jpg [ 28.21 KiB | Viewed 666 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 950
Location: Buckinghamshire
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
I can’t for the life of me get the front control blank plate off didn’t want to damage it is there a knack to it?


Attachments:
219862B7-2D81-4A85-8892-5DC16428F513.jpeg
219862B7-2D81-4A85-8892-5DC16428F513.jpeg [ 226.79 KiB | Viewed 600 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:32 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8506
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1448 times
Don't you lift it up by the tab with the arrow on it?

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:25 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:37 pm
Posts: 505
Location: Coventry
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 79 times
bgatty68 wrote:
I can’t for the life of me get the front control blank plate off didn’t want to damage it is there a knack to it?

Before you do anything else Please download the appropriate manual from the link below.

https://www.worcester-bosch.co.uk/profe ... structions

Follow carefully the instructions on page 30 or 28 (depending on manual revision) referring to ‘Access to Electrical Connections’

As you can see you remove a screw from the retaining bracket to enable you to lower the control panel.

Step 8 refers to block ST10 connections.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 950
Location: Buckinghamshire
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Hi guys just to let you know as I forgot to update this post. I change the capacitor on the receiver circuit board. Cost me £3 off eBay and heating been a treat since b


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO