DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:04 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Door Chime/Bell Wiring
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:33 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:22 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi All,

I'm new to this site so go easy on me :D.

My wired doorbell is not longer working and it seem to be the chime box that is faulty. I want to replace it myself, but cannot figure out how the wiring works. There is a door bell transformer, which is located next to the main fuse box, in the chime box, I can see 4 white wires, 2 which are joined together and connected to a terminal and the other 2 connected to seperate terminals....problem/question is if I buy i new chime box how do i know which wire goes where ?

I've attached pics to help.


Attachments:
File comment: Transformer
IMG_20180118_225530.jpg
IMG_20180118_225530.jpg [ 429.52 KiB | Viewed 439 times ]
File comment: Chime Box
IMG_20180118_180344.jpg
IMG_20180118_180344.jpg [ 285.62 KiB | Viewed 439 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:42 pm
Posts: 734
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 217 times
The two wires that are connected together, one of them is from the transformer, the other is from the bell push. The other wire from the transformer goes to one of the terminals, and the other wire from the bell push goes to the other terminal. Polarity is unimportant.

Like this:-


Attachments:
bell_circuit.jpg
bell_circuit.jpg [ 19.39 KiB | Viewed 434 times ]

_________________
Haste is the enemy of quality.
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:00 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
Or another way of saying it:

The two wires on the same terminal are only connected to each other, nothing else.

_________________________________________________________________________________

There is one other thing you should note.

The new door bell you intend to buy it must be the same voltage as the transformer you already have. So look at the transformer and see what voltage it is (probably 8v)

What ever you do buy, do your self a favour and don't buy a "wireless" one, 99% of them are just rubbish.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:19 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:16 am
Posts: 1670
Location: Camberley Surrey
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 283 times
Bell chime transformers often have several voltage tappings, be sure you choose the correct voltage for your new chime. More often I have found the bell push faulty than the chime unit, guess someone has checked by bridging the two terminals in the bell push.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:52 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:22 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for all the replies ! They've been very useful. I'm pretty sure it's the chime as there a horrible burnt smell that came from it last night, also the doorbell button has a light which is still illuminated, which suggest its still working as well as the transformer ??

I've managed to get the instruction booklet for the replacement chime I am thinking of buying...any suggestion on how i would wire it in... I don't know where the wires come from as they are all white, so how do i know which wire goes to terminal 0,1,2, or 3 Apologies for the stupid questions.


Attachments:
File comment: New Unit
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG [ 90.12 KiB | Viewed 404 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 8:48 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
As has already been said, it does not matter which way round the wires go.

As I said, the two wires on the same terminal are connected just to each other, nothing else, with that in mind, look at drawing #3 It has two wires, one connected to terminal 0 and the other connected to terminal 3 if you connect your new door bell like that it will work, PROVIDED the pair that are connected to each other (The two wires on the same terminal) you leave them connected to each other, and put a single piece of connector strip on them.

________________________________________________________________________________

The other option is drawing #2 but since I guess you don't have a multi meter and know how to use it, I wouldn't recommend it.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:59 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:41 pm
Posts: 1403
Location: Wiltshire
Has thanked: 145 times
Been thanked: 212 times
I would try drawing 1 or 2 first. The chimes/coils are connected in series on the first two, safer if the output voltage of the transformer is too high. If it works then all well and good. If not then try connecting as drawing 3.

_________________
When all you have is a hammer, every problem is a nail.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO