DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:39 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 6:04 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:54 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi Everyone,

I'm not sure if this is posted in the right forum but can anyone advise of a decent live cable detector as I'm wanting to hang some photo frames and don't fancy a shock!
I bought one last week from a famous American online shop but the instructions are next to useless and I just don't trust the readings!
I don't want to spend much as I can't see myself using it all that often.
Any advice would be most welcome, many thanks.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 6:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7687
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
You will find that they are all like the one you already have.........useless

The owner of this site made a video...........

Click here

There is no G'tee but cables should be run in the "permitted zones" Click here

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 9:20 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:54 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 times
someone-else wrote:
You will find that they are all like the one you already have.........useless

The owner of this site made a video...........

Click here

There is no G'tee but cables should be run in the "permitted zones" Click here


Just watched the video and the bosch dmf 10 digital detector looks even more useless than the one i have!
Appreciate the help, thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 12:13 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2648
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 64 times
Been thanked: 541 times
There are some really good units, but at silly prices, I have a cheap unit, and it let me down, lucky all circuits in my house are RCD protected, however the two way light switch cable did not follow permitted zones, and did not get picked up with tester, so when I tapped two hack saw blades together to install a water supply for fridge/freezer I went through cable.

It knocked me to floor, took good 20 minutes to come around, and the RCD tested as tripping in 34 mS so it would have been a short shock at least. The problem was I was alone, and too embarrassed to go to hospitial, stupid but younger then.

Had I not tested, likely I would have been more careful. A pair of gloves would have saved me, holding a non insulated hacksaw blade was rather silly.



For this message the author ericmark has received gratitude : Piscator
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 9:50 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9936
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 337 times
Been thanked: 1760 times
I use a Fluke live wire detector. Fluke are a huge name in electronic test equipment and wouldn't produce something that didn't work. Don't pay 99p for one.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received gratitude : Piscator
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 3:37 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:54 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 times
ericmark wrote:
There are some really good units, but at silly prices, I have a cheap unit, and it let me down, lucky all circuits in my house are RCD protected, however the two way light switch cable did not follow permitted zones, and did not get picked up with tester, so when I tapped two hack saw blades together to install a water supply for fridge/freezer I went through cable.

It knocked me to floor, took good 20 minutes to come around, and the RCD tested as tripping in 34 mS so it would have been a short shock at least. The problem was I was alone, and too embarrassed to go to hospitial, stupid but younger then.

Had I not tested, likely I would have been more careful. A pair of gloves would have saved me, holding a non insulated hacksaw blade was rather silly.


You were very fortunate, I think its safe to say its not worth taking any chances when it comes to electricity - Glad you lived to tell the tale!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 3:39 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:54 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 times
kellys_eye wrote:
I use a Fluke live wire detector. Fluke are a huge name in electronic test equipment and wouldn't produce something that didn't work. Don't pay 99p for one.


I'm struggling find one, can you give me a pointer or send me a link to what might be suitable?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 4:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7687
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
The item mentioned by kellys_eye is what is known as a "volt stick" (That is if you do what I did and google exactly that) A volt stick is of no use to you since all it does is light up / beep when it touches a live cable, as in, you have a bunch of cables and are any of them live.

You want to know where a cable is in the wall, a volt stick is no use for that.

There is however a fluke cable locator, but this has to be connected at one end of the cable (no use to you) and I will say nothing of the £600 price tag. (Yes really, £600)

so its a case of look up and down, left and right, wear rubber gloves, stand on a rubber mat, wear googles, wear ear defenders, wear a hard hat......etc

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : Piscator
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 6:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9936
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 337 times
Been thanked: 1760 times
someone-else wrote:
The item mentioned by kellys_eye is what is known as a "volt stick" (That is if you do what I did and google exactly that) A volt stick is of no use to you since all it does is light up / beep when it touches a live cable, as in, you have a bunch of cables and are any of them live.

You want to know where a cable is in the wall, a volt stick is no use for that.


The volt stick (Fluke) doesn't need to be physically touching a cable to indicate a live wire - it will detect a live cable behind plasterboard quite easily and if it can't then the cable is far enough away that a screw wouldn't hit it anyway. But that's not a good enough reason to simply rely on one.

In a proper installation, cables run in specific directions and locations i.e. vertically up from wall sockets (or down from them) and in a horizontal line between (some of) them. There are drawings to illustrate how cables 'should' be run and it's relatively straightforward to avoid the areas where the risk is 'substantial' without resorting to a cable detector.

The biggest problem is when cables have been added to mount wall lights although they SHOULD be vertically run too.

If there are no sockets above/below where you want to place a screw there is a very high likelihood there isn't any cabling either. Use a bit of common sense and avoid areas above sockets and light switches etc.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received gratitude : Piscator
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Detecting live wires
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 4:12 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:54 am
Posts: 18
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Once again some very sound advice here chaps, thank you :salute:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO