DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:31 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:53 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:24 pm
Posts: 44
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 0 times
For a long time the vent pipe connected to the back of our Creda Simplicity tumble dryer kept disconnecting from the hole behind the tumble dryer periodically. Today I finally figured out why. I went along the outside wall to the spot where the duct leaves the house. When the tumble dryer is on air is supposed to exert from this vent, however, it didn't do this. I removed the brown grill attached to the wall which acts as the end point of the ducting. I could then feel air flowing out from the tumble dryer. I then looked at the brown grill and could see that it was blocked up with dust. I got this cleared and placed the brown grill back on the wall.

The dust filter inside the tumble dryer leaks a little which probably explains the dust blockage at the end point of the ducting where it exits the house. This reminder that the dust filter should be cleaned after each use of the dryer! It would seem that the blockage stopped the air from exiting the house and therefore the pressure build up caused the duct to disconnect from the rear of the tumble dryer.

Air is definitely flowing through the ducting now because part of the ducting that I can touch gets warm which it did not do before. I'm delighted I got this issue sorted ! :huray:


Attachments:
IMG_20170821_160611.jpg
IMG_20170821_160611.jpg [ 935.16 KiB | Viewed 482 times ]
IMG_20170821_160555.jpg
IMG_20170821_160555.jpg [ 905.12 KiB | Viewed 482 times ]
IMG-20170821-WA0005.jpeg
IMG-20170821-WA0005.jpeg [ 357.11 KiB | Viewed 482 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:39 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 7:20 pm
Posts: 319
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Thats becausr you have a fancy grill with an insect grill rather than the cheap ones with flaps that flip up


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:32 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2331
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 481 times
Or one just without the insect screen, the ones with flaps rattle in the wind.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:00 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6427
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 1066 times
Sorry to state the obvious but the reason they have screens is not to trap the outgoing lint, but to stop insects coming into your dryer. I would clean it and put it back.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:11 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:24 pm
Posts: 44
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Yup. Got it all cleaned and put it back. Running much better now. Very pleased.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 11:15 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:24 pm
Posts: 44
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I didn't fit the 'fancy' grill ;) the cow boys that built the extension fitted it.

Do the grills with the flaps not have an insect screen?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 5:34 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6427
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 1066 times
flembot wrote:
Do the grills with the flaps not have an insect screen?


Most don't. Some can have one fitted. But often what happens is, the lint jambs the hinges and holds the flaps open. Like all things of this nature, you are supposed to clean it, but almost no one does.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : flembot
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO