DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu May 24, 2018 11:08 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:35 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:20 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hello,

So I wondered if anyone would be able to advise me on what transformer I specifically need for this conversion process.

I'm wanting to fix a lamp to my wall and change it from a plug enabled light, and instead use it as a hard-wired appliance.

Attached are a couple of images which show a) the back of the plug and the sticker on there, and b) the LED sticker (you must note, there's 3 of these LEDs on the lamp).

I've already blown one lamp despite me following word for word what a lighting seller recommended. I bought his transformer, I wired it up as specified. Then *fizzle* - I saw my lamp burn in front of me as 220V went right through it. The transformer connection didn't come to the rescue.

Any lighting technician that has 100% accurate advice, it'd be appreciated.

Thank you.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:44 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 327
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 70 times
:welcomeuhm: but no image(s) attached, try again.

LED lamps are usually low voltage, needing a driver ("transformer") to convert 240v mains down, as you have found. More information required.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:50 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:20 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Exactly. Totally clear on what is needed to happen, but something went wrong the last transformer used as it blew my LEDs.

Sorry. Will try attaching images again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:53 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:20 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Couldn't attach the conventional way so you can see them at the following links. These are urls to the uploaded images.

https://ibb.co/ihhRac
https://ibb.co/cca18x
https://ibb.co/eznRac


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7364
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1248 times
Billy5step wrote:
Exactly. Totally clear on what is needed to happen, but something went wrong the last transformer used as it blew my LEDs.


You need a different "transformer" then.

I would suggest one of these but it will need a box. (I have a couple of these, never been a problem.

I don't suppose you have a multi meter? (Just wondering what the voltage is on the "transformer" you have is)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : Billy5step
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:33 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:20 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Here is the transformer that I had supplied before. https://ibb.co/hDuBQc

Can you see anything with this on why it wouldn't work? Is it the same spec as the one you sent a link on?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 719
Location: North Herts
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 109 times
Polarity on the DC output side is critical to it working. Wires back to front?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:45 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:20 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
"Polarity on the DC side" It's kind that you think I have half an electrical brain, but I don't. What is this mean in layman terms please?

I will show you the wires on the product. Unless they are labelled incorrectly, I followed the way the lighting seller auggested I should. Again, from looking at pics and without knowing if the cables are wrongly marked. Photo images here of my lamp cable chopped and the transformer I bought.

https://ibb.co/cR8GrH
https://ibb.co/e13hWH
https://ibb.co/dopBQc


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:14 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 719
Location: North Herts
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 109 times
:lol: Means it matters which way round the LED wires go into the white box.

Brown wire (from your mains) goes to L
Blue wire (from your mains) goes to N

The wire with the grey dashes I would presume goes to - (but I may be wrong)
And plain one to +

If it doesn't work try reversing those two. Just tap the wire onto the terminal briefly and it if it doesn't light straight away it's not right.

Whatever you do DO NOT hook it up with the 12v side to the mains :error:

Did the LEDs originally flash on breifly before they "fizzled"?



For this message the author Cantseeitfrommyhouse has received gratitude : Billy5step
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:16 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 719
Location: North Herts
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 109 times
In fact, wire it up how you think it should be and take a picture of the whole assembly from plug to LED.

I'm off to bed shortly but somebody will be along to help tomorrow no doubt :hello2:



For this message the author Cantseeitfrommyhouse has received gratitude : Billy5step
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 12:20 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:20 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thank you! I'll need to buy a new transformer first and I'll do exactly that. Photograph it and send for review before I unleash power. Appreciate your guidance so far.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:28 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7364
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1248 times
Ever wondered what L.E.D. stands for?

It's Light Emitting Diode

Light and emit are fairly obvious. Diode isn't that obvious.
A diode only lets current flow one way.

So if you connect a diode the wrong way round, it will not work. It will not "explode burn up or come to any harm"

What I am saying is, if the diodes were connected the wrong way round they would not have come to any harm, they would have just not lit, but would light when connected the right way round.

This fact is of only working one way is used to its advantage in a bridge rectifier.
It changes Alternating Current to Direct Current. A bride rectifier has 4 terminals, two for AC in and two for DC out.
It has 4 diodes. 2 diodes let half of each sine wave through each cycle, and the other two diodes block the same half of the sine wave each cycle, then when the cycle alternates, the 4 diodes do the opposite of what they just did, so the 2 that were blocking now pass, and the two that were passing now block.
This way all the +ve current goes to one terminal and all the -ve current goes to another terminal

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:40 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7364
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1248 times
You could carry on using "trial and error" and still never find out what is wrong, and ultimately give up / waste money.
I suggest that you buy a digital multi meter, learn how to use its basic functions (its not that hard) and that way you will see for yourself what is right / wrong.

what you are doing is a bit like wanting to hit a nail and you use heavy shoe, but we all know you should use a hammer.

A digital multi meter has hundreds of uses and will soon pay for itself in preventing lost equipment. You can get a digital multimeter that works for less than £5 Click here

If you also read my signature, it gives details on your picture insertion problem (makes reading posts easier, also make sure the picture host allows embedding, usually tick a box to allow it)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:51 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:20 pm
Posts: 15
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
@someone-else, thanks a lot for the technical understanding. Slowly but surely, I'm learning more and more. I will look at the multi-meter and see if I can get one at screwfix. As for the picture upload, I can't seem to get it to work the conventional way. I'm using a mobile phone so not sure if that is scuppering things.

Nevermind.

Now, @cantseeitfrommyhouse, I have shared the imagea here of how I connected it up as you requested.

https://ibb.co/mdt88x
https://ibb.co/maZFox
https://ibb.co/ek9Fox
https://ibb.co/iHkYac

(apologies for the links and not embedded pictures)

Also, having looked at my led bulbs, I'm not sure I blew them at all on this one. I'm confusing my first light I tried (this is now light number 2) where it fizzled and I remember the sound. The lights just didn't come on eith this one photographed.

So is there anything there in my wiring up that you see as incorrect? Hopefully the link between the 4 images makes sense.

Thank you everyone.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:24 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7364
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1248 times
You still need to check the voltage. Looking at it doesn't show voltage.
And yes, screwfix do sell multimeters

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO