DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:01 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:35 am
Posts: 147
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Hi Folks,

I realise this is a bit of a "how long is a piece of string" question, however how much does it cost to replace a domestic consumer unit ballpark? Our current one isn't that old - within 10 years however I'm not 100 perecnt with the quality of the install and would like a new one fitted.

Any suggestions and help appreciated.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2431
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 507 times
I would expect to start at £250 and up to £500 under £250 I would worry about quality off install, but with RCBO on every circuit and a few faults it could take a few days to sort out problems, so I would expect most electricians to load the estimate a bit and hope good help the pay for the problem cases.

When having a wet room built 2005 we needed RCD protection, the plan was to fit a mini consumer unit to cover just the wet room, I got a phone call from my dad, saying for £100 extra cash he would swap whole consumer unit instead, this was very cheap so I said yes. However when I got to the house the poor lad was pulling his hair out, he could not get the RCD to hold in and seemed to have no test equipment, and mine was at my sons house, in the end he fitted an isolator instead just for the night and was going to return next day, we never saw him again.

Once I got the test equipment I found the insulation resistance was far too low and although I found some faults which were corrected it became evident that a rewire was required. The consumer was spilt one side RCD protected the other not and so the sockets were unprotected, at that time it was permitted. Dad would not allow me to rewire the house, so it was done around this time last year while mother was in a care home.

So a good electrician will do an EICR electrical installation condition report first, then he will know how much work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
Quote:
So a good electrician will do an EICR electrical installation condition report first, then he will know how much work.


Get one of those EICR's done. from a local NICEIC/NAPIT registered sparks. That will raise any issues with your current install.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:35 am
Posts: 147
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Thank so for the advice!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:08 am 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
wine~o wrote:
Quote:
So a good electrician will do an EICR electrical installation condition report first, then he will know how much work.


Get one of those EICR's done. from a local NICEIC/NAPIT registered sparks. That will raise any issues with your current install.
Sound advice that way you can also ask him for a load calculation at same time.

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: OnlyMe and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO