DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun Apr 21, 2019 5:21 pm


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:49 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:35 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi

My setup: I have a loft mounted aerial with a 10m length of coax cable coming down the cavity wall & outputting into the room with a wall plate socket. I have one device connected to it ATM (TV) but may have others in the future. I'm 15 miles from the Mendip transmitter. TV says signal strength is about 40-50% but picture quality is good.

I've a reception problem which I've isolated to the coax cable. I've a few Qs which I hope you can help me with.

What type of replacement coax would you recommend? RG6 or WF100 seem suitable. What are their differences?

What is the purpose of circuit board on the rear of the wall plate?

Attachment:
SAM_1616.JPG
SAM_1616.JPG [ 342.5 KiB | Viewed 517 times ]

One website suggests this type (unscreened?) should be thrown away. Is this necessary? What advantages would their recommended screened replacement bring?

Is a wallplate necessary? Could I, in theory, run the coax straight from the aerial, into the back of the TV? Would that be safe?

Bearing in mind the signal strength, what splitter would you recommend if i were purchase some form of set top box/PVR?

Cheers
DaveF


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 809
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 192 times
:welcomeuhm:

Been there, done that, though without answering your specific questions as not expert enough, I can,say that old spec. cables don't cope well with digital tv so use foil lined satellite quality (WF100). Good brand is Webro, look online.

Also is there any way you can get a compact, log-periodic, aerial mounted outside? Check out log-periodic v. yagi aerials.

What helped me enormously, a few years ago now, and took up an inordinate amount of time seeing the humour and detail in it, was this website, worth a read:

https://www.aerialsandtv.com



For this message the author arco_iris has received gratitude : DaveF63
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 10:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:07 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Wales
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 50 times
First- All coax is screened, whether by braid or foil and you need both inner core and screen connected.
Have you checked that the braiding on yours isn't shorting to the inner conductor?
Looks a bit ragged.
Yes you could run a cable directly to the TV, many installations do, you could replace that
face plate with a single outlet, the Printed circuit board just has a few passive components to split the signal
between the two outputs.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 12:31 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2797
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 560 times
Cable first TV's use 75Ω coax, there are many different qualities and it depends how long the run is, however satellite cable works on higher frequencies to terrestrial so the cable is normally higher quality.

As to the plate and the components on it, with any aerial during electric storms the voltage to ground can be much higher than we would find comfortable, not talking about a lighting strike if that happens say good buy to TV and anything else connected, I am talking about enough voltage to be really uncomfortable should you grab hold of the plug, so some where we put a decoupling device, this may be a part of the mast head amplifier or the plate on the on the wall. These components may also stop out of frequency transmissions from taxi's police CB etc. However some times we send DC up to the mast head amplifier in which case those components would stop it working.

Also we get band pass filters which are more selective so you can feed satellite, TV, DAB and FM radio aerials all down the same coax then split them up after in the room.

In the main I prefer a satellite dish which can be mounted low enough so I can access it with step ladders, however it depends on receiver my stand alone satellite boxes are very good, but the built in receiver in my Toshiba TV is rather useless, it only gets half of the programs.

The same is of course true with Freeview my Toshiba is very good with Freeview my LG TV is rather hopeless it picks up the channels but not the program guide.

i.e. all TV's are not equal, and you may need filters to stop CB break through with one TV but others could be fine. The same applies with signal strength, some TV's need a very strong signal, others it seems will work with a bit of wet string. I still use Sky +HD and so have the TV signal go into Sky box then HDMI into local TV and to loft and a powered amplifier to other TV's in the house.

This was all well and good when we used 14" TV's in the bedroom, but on a 32" TV you can see the degrading of signal, Freeview is A1 but the satellite program which is analogue is not best quality. However about to move so not doing anything now. So with Freeview an amplifier will allow one aerial to feed every room in the house, but with satellite each room needs a feed direct from the LNB which normally has 4 outputs but Sky +HD needs two, so three rooms served. You can get an 8 output unit, but if you use Sky Q there is something special about the LNB and it does not work with other satellite boxes.

It also seems freesat is not the same as free to air, a free to air box will get same programs, but often the electronic program guide does not work fully, although often it has features like being able to change order of programs, freesat has a 7 day program guide and the programs are in a set order.

Not paying with a Sky box, you can't get as many programs as with a non sky box, but in the main programs you can't get are the HD versions. Using an old Sky box however you do get the 7 day guide, even if you need to scroll through all the encoded programs as unlike free to air boxes it will not let you delete the rubbish.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 4:38 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:35 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for your replies.

arco_iris wrote:
is there any way you can get a compact, log-periodic, aerial mounted outside?

Sadly, no. I'm in a block of flats, but on the top floor so have access to the roof space. The reason I'm installing my own aerial (using the existing cable to my flat) instead of using the communal one is a long story. The management company won't even realign it to point at the more powerful transmitter!

jaeger wrote:
Looks a bit ragged.

True, the photo shows a temporary test scenario to check whether it was the cable or plate which was causing problems.

jaeger wrote:
the Printed circuit board just has a few passive components to split the signal between the two outputs.

I've seen single outputs with a circuit board. What are they for?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:14 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:28 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
hi there

With reference to face plate yes get rid it is losing you signal strength anyway cause your aerial in loft dont worry about lightening strike in less aerial was outside. With adding more point when you come to do it get indoor splitter from likes screwfix with f type connectors and put the splitter as close to aerial as possible as you lose about 5db soon as split plus about 1db per meter of rg6 cable hope this helps


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:17 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:07 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Wales
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 50 times
RG6 ~ 1db per metre is a bit pessimistic specs put it about 5-6db per 100 foot


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO