DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun Apr 21, 2019 11:53 am


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:31 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3645
Has thanked: 922 times
Been thanked: 405 times
Can someone please explain how I check a 240v socket using a multimeter? Where do the red and black leads go in the meter and where do I put the leads in the socket?

There's a few videos on YouTube but they are in the US.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on Delicious
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:07 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 9:35 pm
Posts: 3529
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 750 times
As you are looking at the socket its red on the right and black on the left. Though if you get it backwards you will still get the same voltage with a "-" instead.
You will likely need something to push into the earth pin to open the covers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:25 am
Posts: 164
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 25 times
Argyll wrote:
Where do the red and black leads go in the meter


The black lead will go into COM and the Red into the port marked V.

Also make sure it's set to AC if the meter as AC/DC features.

ah


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:47 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10338
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 349 times
Been thanked: 1829 times
Rorschach wrote:
As you are looking at the socket its red on the right and black on the left. Though if you get it backwards you will still get the same voltage with a "-" instead.
You will likely need something to push into the earth pin to open the covers.


Measuring AC you won't see any "-" sign - if you do you've got huge problems!

Similarly it doesn't matter which way round you use the leads (when measuring AC) - it's only important when measuring DC.

If the meter has a switch selectable range then always start on the HIGHEST range (probably 500V or 1000V) and if you require a more accurate reading them switch to a lower range (although not many meters have ranges that suit 'exactly' - i.e. a 300V AC range).

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:08 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 1:07 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Wales
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 50 times
Some might say not to measure AC mains wiring with a meter not rated at least cat 3.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2797
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 560 times
ImageSome meters have only two connections others can have 4 or 5 so can't really say exactly which terminal you use, normally it would be Com and VΩA and it is important to set the meter to Volts of a high enough scale. This is why I like the clamp on you can't select a scale which would be a short circuit.

I would say post a picture of your meter, then sure answers are correct.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 4:03 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 8601
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 1470 times
Argyll wrote:
Can someone please explain how I check a 240v socket using a multimeter? Where do the red and black leads go in the meter and where do I put the leads in the socket?


As has been said, it is easy, but to be sure a picture of the meter you have would really help.

It is also true that most "economy meters" are not meant to be used on mains all the time, but so long as you look after your meter and its leads, and dont use it too often on the mains all should be well, but that said, have you checked the voltage of a battery yet?

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 11:22 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3645
Has thanked: 922 times
Been thanked: 405 times
someone-else wrote:
Argyll wrote:
but that said, have you checked the voltage of a battery yet?


Check voltage of batteries every day mate. Are you referring to the problem with the one I had? If so I just chucked that one.

This is the one I have now:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/ULTRICS%C3%82-Digital-Multimeter-Voltmeter-Ammeter/dp/B00TM0W8ZY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1551697158&sr=8-1&keywords=B00TM0W8ZY

What I really wish to know is where do I put the test leads on the socket? I'll be removing the wall plate so will have access at the back. I assume red on the live and black on the neutral?

The multimeter voltage does not go above 200 and I know in the UK we run 230v A/C so I'm not sure if this multimeter is suitable. In the picture I've highlighted two settings in a red circle. Clearly one is 200v but the second is amperes I believe but that goes up to 200m.

It's not a case of suck it and see with electricity so I want to make sure I'm 100% before I do it.


Attachments:
Multimeter.pdf [55.14 KiB]
Downloaded 12 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:19 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:20 pm
Posts: 3882
Has thanked: 1234 times
Been thanked: 1110 times
On the meter there's "V ~" marked. There's 200 and 600 joined by the curved white line there. The knob looks as if it's actually pointing at 600.
As you say, black to neutral and red to line, although with AC it doesn't really matter.
Be careful with mains, both from inadvertent contact with yourself, and shorting the supply either to earth or neutral. As Jaeger says, if you're working with mains voltages you should really have the right leads.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:21 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:25 am
Posts: 164
Location: Scotland
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 25 times
The spec says:

AV Voltage:

• Measurement Range 200V-600V

Looking at the picture you need to turn the dial to 600 on V~ section of the selector.
Doesn't matter which probe is on which terminal (L or N)

When testing a socket or switch I touch the probe ends on to the terminal screws only. This should work fine if the screws are tightened correctly.

ah


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 10338
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 349 times
Been thanked: 1829 times
Dave54 wrote:
As Jaeger says, if you're working with mains voltages you should really have the right leads.


Yup, they are usually referred to as 'shrouded probes' where only a short length of the (conductive) tip is visible. The cheap probes have a few INCHES of probe and can lend themselves to shorting against earth plating on the reverse of sockets but this is less of an issue with pushing them in the front! In fact, the shrouded versions most likely won't REACH into the front of the socket plate. YMMV.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 1:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 24385
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1550 times
Been thanked: 3892 times
If you are not confident in poking around behind the socket plate then this might help

Attachment:
multi meter.JPG
multi meter.JPG [ 314.42 KiB | Viewed 479 times ]


Plug into socket, switch multimeter on, switch socket on. Note reading, switch socket off, unplug.

Making sure of course that the meter is set to the correct range (in your case 600 V ac ~ )

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 3645
Has thanked: 922 times
Been thanked: 405 times
Cheers guys. I didn't see the 600 above it. I really should get new specs.

The only reason I asked was I blew myself across a room once in Germany and have an extremely cautious attitude towards electricity now.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 12:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2797
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 560 times
Argyll wrote:
Cheers guys. I didn't see the 600 above it. I really should get new specs.

The only reason I asked was I blew myself across a room once in Germany and have an extremely cautious attitude towards electricity now.

That's why I bought my son a clamp on multi meter when he started, he may damage the meter selecting wrong range, but would not damage himself.

The 10ADC is the danger hole, if you avoid using that hole you may blow a fuse or blow up meter but you should be save, but that hole is always connected even when switched off and if you connect the lead to that hole in error does not matter what you set meter to your likely to get a big bang.



For this message the author ericmark has received gratitude : Argyll
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO