DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:24 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:32 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:07 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi, I currently have a halogen outdoor floodlight which is not working properly, so I need to replace it, I was thinking of replacing it with an LED floodlight, however, I don't have the first idea about electrics. If I disconnect the existing (halogen) light (after switching the power off of course), I believe I should find a positive, neutral and earth wire? On a halogen light I understand these would normally wire straight into a block inside the light, however, all the LED floodlights I have seen so far seem to have a cable attached, so my question is: Can I connect the existing wires (from the house) and the wires from the LED light into a junction box, is this the correct way to wire it, and is there a certain type of junction box I would need to use?
Apologies for the daft questions, I have never touched any house electrics before.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6567
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1103 times
First of all its Live Neutral and Earth

I would suggest you look for a different flood light, have a look at screwfix Click here

As you are not sure, I would suggest if you really do want to DIY turn the main switch off on your consumers unit.

Or get some one else to show you how its done.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : Roosterzfoot
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:03 pm 
Online
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2369
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 137 times
Been thanked: 498 times
:welcomeuhm:

The correct jb is something like

https://www.screwfix.com/p/jb/53068.



For this message the author OnlyMe has received gratitude : Roosterzfoot
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:46 am 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Too many factors most led come with wire already attached, I have opened and re wired but don't suggest unless you know what you are doing, is the junction box outside or Inside and can you use a multimeter ?

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:12 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:07 pm
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 times
multiman wrote:
Too many factors most led come with wire already attached, I have opened and re wired but don't suggest unless you know what you are doing, is the junction box outside or Inside and can you use a multimeter ?

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk

Hi,

Thanks for your reply

I don't think there is a junction box at the moment, the existing halogen light is wired to a light switch indoors. What I was thinking was removing the old light, feeding the existing wires from the switch into a junction/connector box, and then the wires from the new led light also into the junction/connector box. Obviously I would flip the breaker and check with a voltage detector before starting. I have never used a multimeter.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:47 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6567
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 1103 times
It will be worth your while getting a multi meter, you would be surprised how use full they are, and they don't cost that much :wink:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:54 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
someone-else wrote:
It will be worth your while getting a multi meter, you would be surprised how use full they are, and they don't cost that much :wink:
What ^ he said

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO