DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 5:46 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Central heating problem
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:40 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:36 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hoping someone might be able to answer this fairly easily. We recently had some plastering and decorating done which meant taking two radiators off the wall. They're now back on and we've also had an additional radiator fitted. The problem we have is that we now need to turn the thermostat up to 28 degrees to trigger a call for heat to the boiler. Could anyone tell me if this is likely to be because the system needs balancing or is it more likely to be a problem with the thermostat and it's just coincidence that it's happened now? We've bled the radiators and there are no hot or cold spots and everything is working fine apart from this.

I've kept this short rather than go through the whole saga of our dealings with the plumber who did the work but I'm happy to give more info if needed (as long as it doesn't get too technical for me!)

Thanks in advance for any help given.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
Any thermostat works on room temperature fall/rise so if the room is say 26 ish then the stat will stay off.

Hang a thermometer on the wall and take readings, (needs to be near the room stat) other than that unlikely to be any problem.

My lounge is currently reading 32.9c :shock: I would need to turn the room stat up to at least 34c for the boiler to turn on.



For this message the author thescruff has received gratitude : frances
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:10 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:36 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks thescruff - just tried this (with the thermometer balanced on top of the thermostat). Temp in the hall is 16 degrees but I needed to turn the thermostat up to 26 before it clicked.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
They can fill up with fluff over time so clean the airways, otherwise replace if it's out of sync.



For this message the author thescruff has received gratitude : frances
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:22 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:36 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 times
So the fact that we've just had walls replastered and the entire house is hidden in a dust cloud could be behind all this? Thanks very much thescruff - I don't know the first thing about central heating but one thing I do know about is cleaning!! I'll see what effect that has.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22423
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1338 times
Been thanked: 3403 times
Be careful if you take the cover off the thermostat; there is a possibility that you'll be exposing 230V live wiring.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : frances
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:47 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:36 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I wondered about electrics - that's why I haven't touched it yet. Think I'll wait till OH gets home if electricity is involved. Apart from the general dangers, I'm one of those people who seems to be permanently full of static electricity so probably best if I stay well away.

Edit: Would the thermostat be on the same fuse as the boiler? We have a three storey house - thermostat on ground floor, boiler on top floor. Or would the thermostat be on the circuit for ground floor power?


Last edited by frances on Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22423
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1338 times
Been thanked: 3403 times
Switch off the lecky at the boiler if in any doubt.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : frances
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 1:50 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:36 am
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Beat me to it :-) Thanks wine~o


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:46 am
Posts: 49688
Location: Bath
Has thanked: 422 times
Been thanked: 3902 times
Probably not the same fuse but could be. I would wait for the other half.



For this message the author thescruff has received gratitude : frances
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 7:52 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2432
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 507 times
With modern thermostats we tend to forget about the older models, some had a glass file with mercury in and as it got warmer it would tilt the file and the mercury would role from one end of file to the other, it actually worked well, however the thermostat needs to be level, even a little off level and the thermostat will be out.

As we moved away from them we still had the bi-metal strip which physically opened and closed the contacts, the hysteresis was massive so to reduce it they had a small heater fitted, for this to work it needed a neutral, many would fitted without the neutral and the result was it had a massive difference between on temperature and off temperature.

With hard wired thermostats there are no problems, but with wireless you can actually lose the wireless connection, I had a Horstmann HRFS1 fitted in my mothers house, spec seemed great, but it would simply fail to both switch on and off, had it both ways, house well over and well under temperature.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO