DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:37 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 8:33 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:10 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Evening,

In a double bedroom there is a ceiling light which is a rose which has 2 neutrals and 2 lives coming out.

In a single bedroom there is a also a rose with 3 neutrals and 3 lives coming out

I have tried to wire up both and, for the double bedroom, no combination I have tried works. For the single bedroom I can wire up the light so that it turns on but the switch does not work.

I've tried finding the switched live using a non contact voltage tester (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Non-Contact-AC-12V-1000V-Voltage-Tester-Detector-Pen-Volt-Alert-Sensor-LED-Light/162468460669?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649) and, whilst the circuits are on, does identify the switched live for the single bedroom, says that both the neutrals have a current for the double bedroom.

I'm at my wits end, please help


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 8:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6464
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 1074 times
You could try posting pictures, may be able to help, but I think a meter would be better.

Non contact voltage indicators in my opinion are a waste of time since they will light up at almost anything. (Rub one up and down on your shirt / jumper)

They also can not tell you if a neutral is present.
I would suggest you buy a multi meter, as they are better, and more useful, you can get one for less than £10 from Screwfix

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:36 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:10 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Single bedroom photo (3 live 3 neutral),https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code=XZXJ8k7ZSvMlfipS8Wzz5sI9ktSzMjsrNnWy
Attachment:
jack 1.jpg
jack 1.jpg [ 183.72 KiB | Viewed 218 times ]

Double bedroom photo (2 live 2 neutral), https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code=XZVJ8k7ZwPvLXKvzHuL5acgVPVRvF8qybVCk
Attachment:
jack 2.jpg
jack 2.jpg [ 235.81 KiB | Viewed 218 times ]


I did buy a 17th edition series test meter, https://www.test-meter.co.uk/17th-edition-safe-isolation-kit-test-meter/, but it didn't register any voltage when I tested on the double bedroom light




pics attached. Mod 2.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:16 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6464
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 1074 times
What you have linked to is an isolation kit that also has a voltage indicator.
(For what its worth most of what you have is of no use to you, and you could have got the voltage indicator for considerably less, and as I said a multi meter is even less and would have been more use to you.)

The voltage indicator you have only works with the mains on.
Re-reading your post, it shows you have no concept of how a UK lighting circuit is wired, and what you are "looking" for, so as I would like to see you post again, I am sorry but I feel that you should call an electrician to do this job for you.

(Or wait and see what they say on the other forum you asked this question)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:56 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2336
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 133 times
Been thanked: 487 times
Single bedroom. All the reds into the loop, separate the blacks and test for voltage. The switched live will be confirmed by switching the lightswitch. One of the neutrals may show as a live, that's normal.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:12 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:10 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi,

I got the single bedroom light working using my new LAP multi meter with the resistance setting on 200 ohms, measuring for resistance between each live/neutral and ground to find which is the switched live and neutral.

I did use this method to find the switch's live and neutral for the double bedroom. I have tried the switched live (black cable with red tape) in the live, all other neutrals > neutral, the other reds to the looped but the light just won't turn on. The double bedroom has 2 lives and 2 neutrals, one a switch live/neutral pair and the other a consumer unit live/neutral pair. Please can someone assist in letting e know which wire goes where using the pics I attached? Thanks


Attachments:
2017-10-04 23.01.02.jpg
2017-10-04 23.01.02.jpg [ 102.3 KiB | Viewed 143 times ]
File comment: light
2017-10-04 23.02.26.jpg
2017-10-04 23.02.26.jpg [ 82.21 KiB | Viewed 143 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:56 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22226
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1325 times
Been thanked: 3334 times
If all else is wired correctly then one black to Live the other to neutral and the reds in loop.

If it doesn't work there is either a fault with the wiring at the previous light or a break in the cable between the 2 lights or a loose connection at the switch or the switch itself is faulty.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 10:45 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 10:10 pm
Posts: 5
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
All other lights in the house turn on/off with no problems. I rechecked the live neutral cable under the light switch to confirm that they were the switched live and neutral. The switched live (neutral) had a positive resistance when connected to ground and the live, when connected to ground, had a positive resistance. However there was zero resistance between switched live (neutral) and the live. I also checked the switch's live (in the COM) and the switched neutral (in L1) and there was the same resistance valves for the switched live (neutral) and the live. However, again, zero resistance between switched live and neutral (when isolated with switch on).

When unisolated and the switch is off the 5W LED glows slightly, when the switch is on the LED turns off. I used a non contact voltage tester when unisolated and it buzzed on all lives and neutrals. The connection at the switch is working, the wires are definitly connected. Any suggestions? I suspect the switch mechanism is broken


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 6:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22226
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1325 times
Been thanked: 3334 times
bypass the switch by putting the permanent and switched live in the same terminal. If the light works then the switch is fooked.

Edit. Lecky off first.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO