DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:23 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:15 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:10 pm
Posts: 69
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Hi,

I'm about to wire up a network extension. I have used a long network cable (plug both ends) and will have one end plugged into a network extender. The other end is to be terminated in a network wall socket after I cut the plug off.

The wall socket has all the connection details included wire colours etc. But as the other end is using the supplied plug will it be correct? Do I need to switch over connections or anything?

Thanks

Tim


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 2:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9406
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1661 times
The wall plate should ALWAYS stay the same and as per the colours indicated.

The cable can change depending on your requirement and will be made up (cross-wired if necessary) and purchased according to your needs.

Why you want to cut the plug off is a mystery though :dunno:

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 7:28 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:10 pm
Posts: 69
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
I want a wall socket. I used a Cat5 E cable as I could buy a 30 mtr cable. Since I do not want just a cable hanging out the wall the plug has to be cut off and wired into the socket.

Now how do I determine what I need to do at the other end to plug it into my router?

thanks...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:23 am
Posts: 336
Location: Kings lynn
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 69 times
Why not just plug it into the router and hard wire at other end or hard wire to 2 faceplates and use a cable to router.

Sent from my HUAWEI VNS-L31 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:18 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9406
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1661 times
Same answer.

Network extender socket --- cable (with plugs at each end) --- wall plate socket --- internal wiring using CAT5 cable to the next wall plate. wall plate - cable (with plugs at each end) - equipment

The cable from the wall plate to the PC will have a plug on either end.

Most cables are wired as straight through (T568A) - you only use cross-over (T568B) when connecting two pieces of equipment in a peer-to-peer fashion.

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1898
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 380 times
T568A/B are just standard ways of terminating cables and are not anything to do crossover cables, tbh most hardware for at least the last 10 years has automatic x-over switching built in

KISS, A socket each end and standard cat5E cable in between and a few patch leads, be aware that pre made cables use stranded wire and are pain to punch down (terminate), networking cable is solid core and is designed for permanent installation aka structured wiring

I have fitted 1000's of meters of cable and terminated even more connections over the years


ps. pre made cable do not have a set colour standard and you will have to look at the plugs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:13 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9406
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1661 times
What I wrote was that the cable colour code is the 568B standard on each end of a straight-through 10/100BaseT cable. If a crossover cable is needed, use the 568A standard on one end and 568B on the other end. I believe this is correct.

However, as you point out, most modern equipment does the x-over automatically :thumbleft:

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....



For this message the author kellys_eye has received gratitude : vlb
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2017 7:37 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:10 pm
Posts: 69
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 1 times
Thanks to every one who commented. I think I have to sorted now using the advice.

Cheers Tim


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO