DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:03 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6448
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 1067 times
Occasionally the engine management light comes on and no code, so I thought one of those code readers may be of use, just wondering which one to get.
I have seen some that use bluetooth to "talk" to your mobile phone, so you must download an app as well.
So my question is, have you got a fault code reader, if so which one, and what do you think of it?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+

For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:40 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:49 pm
Posts: 9405
Location: Oban
Has thanked: 326 times
Been thanked: 1660 times
They're all much of a muchness these days - pretty much down to the software that references the code to the fault.

You'll probably end up going online to get the deep details anyway.....

Mine's a bluetooth, straight to the phone running a freeware app but the paid-for app opens much more in the way of capability (or so I'm told).

_________________
sent from my laptop using my fingers - because we REALLY need to know where it's come from.....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:20 pm
Posts: 2877
Has thanked: 869 times
Been thanked: 849 times
I've got one of the stand alone type. Just plug it in and read off the screen. Has worked OK when I have used it. Reads the codes and clears them if you want to. It was about fifteen quid IIRC.
Some of the software based solutions are a lot more sophisticated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1886
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 378 times
All depends on the Year, make and model, a fault like this needs more in depth investigation, Having a code reader and getting a code is nothing, Its knowing what to do with the information and diagnosing it correctly that's what takes the skill rather than aiming the parts cannon at it and pulling the trigger

basic handheld readers don't usually read historic codes


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:42 pm
Posts: 641
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 175 times
I've got a "Panlong Bluetooth OBD2 Reader for Android" which I got for about 12 quid on Amazon. I use it with Torque Pro on my phone (which cost a couple of quid or so, I think). Works like a charm. Don't leave it plugged into the car overnight though -- lent mine to my brother and he did that and flattened the battery. They clearly use a fair amount of juice! :lol:

_________________
Haste is the enemy of quality.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 7465
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 940 times
Been thanked: 1724 times
flash22 wrote:
All depends on the Year, make and model, a fault like this needs more in depth investigation, Having a code reader and getting a code is nothing, Its knowing what to do with the information and diagnosing it correctly that's what takes the skill rather than aiming the parts cannon at it and pulling the trigger

basic handheld readers don't usually read historic codes


Correct,it's ok the reader telling you there is an engine misfire in cylinder 3 or whatever but it could be a multitude of things causing it to misfire.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:42 pm
Posts: 641
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 175 times
steviejoiner74 wrote:
Correct,it's ok the reader telling you there is an engine misfire in cylinder 3 or whatever but it could be a multitude of things causing it to misfire.

They do have their uses though. I bought mine because I was having trouble with the engine light on my van (Transit Connect). Now I'm pretty rubbish with cars & vans, I don't usually mess with them beyond minor serviceable bits, but the bluetooth dongley thing said it was a sticking EGR valve.

A quick bit of googling told me it's a common issue in vehicles that do a lot of short local journeys, and one possible solution was an Italian Service (basically, take it on a motorway and rag the nuts off it for half an hour). So I put a tank of that pricey Shell V-Power diesel in it, as it's supposed to contain various clag-removing chemicals and detergents, and really spanked it for a bit. I was as surprised as anyone when it actually worked! Engine light was off the next time I started it up, and the fault code was cleared and it's been fine ever since (running on normal grade diesel). That was at least 18 months ago and it's had two services and MOTs since then.

Maybe I have just been incredibly lucky, but I consider it 15 quid well spent.

_________________
Haste is the enemy of quality.


Last edited by chrrris on Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22211
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1324 times
Been thanked: 3330 times
chrrris wrote:
Don't leave it plugged into the car overnight though -- lent mine to my brother and he did that and flattened the battery.


Did it show a fault code for flat battery :wink:

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received thanks - 2: chrrris, Dave54
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 5:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 9:21 pm
Posts: 1886
Location: Kent, Land of Apples and PYO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 378 times
A fault code is to be used as a tool to diagnose faults, A mechanical problem say a blocked pcv can give you map and maf faults

A cam/crank correlation code could be a worn timing chain, newer cars are getting even more complex with the likes of windows and wipers what are controlled by the bcm, ecu and ipdm/tipm/power distribution


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 7465
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 940 times
Been thanked: 1724 times
chrrris wrote:
steviejoiner74 wrote:
Correct,it's ok the reader telling you there is an engine misfire in cylinder 3 or whatever but it could be a multitude of things causing it to misfire.

They do have their uses though. I bought mine because I was having trouble with the engine light on my van (Transit Connect). Now I'm pretty rubbish with cars & vans, I don't usually mess with them beyond minor serviceable bits, but the bluetooth dongley thing said it was a sticking EGR valve.

A quick bit of googling told me it's a common issue in vehicles that do a lot of short local journeys, and one possible solution was an Italian Service (basically, take it on a motorway and rag the nuts off it for half an hour). So I put a tank of that pricey Shell V-Power diesel in it, as it's supposed to contain various clag-removing chemicals and detergents, and really spanked it for a bit. I was as surprised as anyone when it actually worked! Engine light was off the next time I started it up, and the fault code was cleared and it's been fine ever since (running on normal grade diesel). That was at least 18 months ago and it's had two services and MOTs since then.

Maybe I have just been incredibly lucky, but I consider it 15 quid well spent.

Blank off the egr mate,it's a piece of p*ss to do and the van will run loads better!
I've done it with every tranny and connect I've had.



For this message the author steviejoiner74 has received gratitude : chrrris
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:04 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:20 pm
Posts: 2877
Has thanked: 869 times
Been thanked: 849 times
wine~o wrote:
chrrris wrote:
Don't leave it plugged into the car overnight though -- lent mine to my brother and he did that and flattened the battery.


Did it show a fault code for flat battery :wink:


You really should charge for jokes like that. . . :lol:



For this message the author Dave54 has received thanks - 2: multiman, wine~o
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6448
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 1067 times
Thanks everyone. :thumbleft: :thumbright:

I want to get one so I know when it goes to be fixed am I being "strung a long" I understand that it may say its the fezwongle that's at fault and it needs a new zipzap to cure it, but I just want some where to start.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:38 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 133
Has thanked: 457 times
Been thanked: 18 times
In that case a basic elm327 Bluetooth, wifi or usb will be sufficient, I have autodata, honda hds, delphi and wow diagnostic, I have the honda hds unit, also snooper unit and elm327 Bluetooth as well a generic obd scanner will only read basic diagnostic codes for in depth you will need equipment like I have. Hope that helps

Sent from my C6603 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:42 pm
Posts: 641
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 175 times
steviejoiner74 wrote:
Blank off the egr mate,it's a piece of p*ss to do and the van will run loads better!
I've done it with every tranny and connect I've had.

Hmmm... Somebody else suggested I do that a while back too. I might actually look into that then, although it'll have to be pretty simple as I seem to have a special gift for making a mess of can/van/motorbike maintenance!

_________________
Haste is the enemy of quality.



For this message the author chrrris has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:16 pm
Posts: 5878
Location: Somerset
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 330 times
I bought one when I owned a Renault :lol:

Cheapy thing from ebay, runs on an Android app called 'Torque' Read/clear codes, check turbo boost pressures, tempertures, revs, air flows.... god fun to mess about with.

_________________
Why isn't the number 11 pronounced onety one?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO