DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:01 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:16 pm 
Offline
Mr. Grumpy

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:41 pm
Posts: 3193
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 116 times
I cut out a wall chase yesterday for the ceiling light.

Is in necessary to place the new 1.5mm cable in conduit. As I understand it, the conduit is just there to protect the cable from things like plasterers trowel, sharp fragments from the wall chase etc. I will be plastering it myself and have got the chase pretty smooth.

still any need for conduit?


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7698
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
You are thinking of Image capping



This Image is conduit.


This Image is trunking


Personally I would use capping, but you don't have to.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:32 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:04 pm
Posts: 7896
Location: Fife
Has thanked: 992 times
Been thanked: 1857 times
Best to use it incase the spread nicks any cabling with his trowel. A lot easier to plaster as well

_________________
Carpentry,I can explain it to you but I cannot understand it for you.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 6:25 pm 
Offline
Mr. Grumpy

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:41 pm
Posts: 3193
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 116 times
I mean conduit someone--else, the white oval shaped one.

Will fill the chase myself Steve so might just not bother
I


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7698
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
The advantage of capping is that it goes in after the cable has been installed. Where as conduit you push the cable through it before it is connected. Conduit is also used so that at a later date you can pull the cable out with no damage, you can't do that with capping. Just saying.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:48 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 389
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 85 times
My plasterer is careful anyway and renders the chases first, so for power cable I use nothing or capping, usually nothing. I aways put in more sockets than necessary.

For light switches where possible I use oval conduit, fixed into the chase with blobs of adhesive, (oval conduit clips are thumping expensive) - you might want to change the switch to more gangs or 2 Way switching, in future.

For TV Aerial I use round conduit, as technolgy moves on you might want to change the cable spec., or run Cat5/6 network cable, or whatever they come up with next. But it seems HomePlug enabled double sockets or wireless smart tv's will be the way forward so probably wasting my time & expense.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:18 am 
Offline
Mr. Grumpy

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:41 pm
Posts: 3193
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 116 times
arco_iris wrote:
My plasterer is careful anyway and renders the chases first, so for power cable I use nothing or capping, usually nothing. I aways put in more sockets than necessary.

For light switches where possible I use oval conduit, fixed into the chase with blobs of adhesive, (oval conduit clips are thumping expensive) - you might want to change the switch to more gangs or 2 Way switching, in future.

For TV Aerial I use round conduit, as technolgy moves on you might want to change the cable spec., or run Cat5/6 network cable, or whatever they come up with next. But it seems HomePlug enabled double sockets or wireless smart tv's will be the way forward so probably wasting my time & expense.


I rewired my property about 8 years ago and went mental with cables, 3 coaxial cable (sky HD TV + freeview), Cat 6E (2 sockets) and a phone line. To this day I haven't used one in any room :lol:
I do wonder if all the wifi enable zones has a health effect!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:21 am 
Offline
Mr. Grumpy

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:41 pm
Posts: 3193
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 116 times
someone-else wrote:
The advantage of capping is that it goes in after the cable has been installed. Where as conduit you push the cable through it before it is connected. Conduit is also used so that at a later date you can pull the cable out with no damage, you can't do that with capping. Just saying.


Thanks Mate

Although as there is a sharp angle at the wall-ceiling corner, could you pull the cable out?
And realistically why would you want to?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:28 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 6:42 pm
Posts: 836
Has thanked: 190 times
Been thanked: 256 times
Conduit does have the advantage that it may be possible to pull new cable through without damaging the wall, if some idiot plumber drills a hole for a pipe clip through it. Don't ask me how I know this, I just know, okay? :-)

In my defense, everyone knows the cable from a light switch goes up from the switch to the light fitting, right? Well, it doesn't when it's a 2G2W switch on a landing that also operates the light at the bottom of the stairs. I'm sure the idiot plumber in question has probably filed that safely away under "mistakes I will hopefully only ever make once". :oops:

_________________
Haste is the enemy of quality.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:37 am 
Offline
Mr. Grumpy

Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:41 pm
Posts: 3193
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 116 times
And on another unrelated note. i just realised that was my 3000 post further up. Should I have another Whisky?

Having a Laphroaig and watching a TV documentary about the universe and cosmology. Mind blowing. My cable chase query seems a bit insignificant now :lol:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO