DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:34 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:19 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:16 pm
Posts: 40
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Hi All

I have one of these (http://www.eterna-lighting.co.uk/product/vecocirmw/) lights. I want to stop it being a sensor light and to just turn on via a switch now. I've tried this but the light comes on, and then goes into standby and then comes on again as it senses movement.
I spoke to eterna and they said I can bypass the sensor on this model, but I just want to ratify my thinking.

It has power to the light, but also power within the microwave unit itself. So it has two lives and two neutrals. I'm thinking I can simply join the lives together and the neutrals together in a block and that would work. Am I right?

The link has a picture of the wiring if that helps.

Cheers
Mike


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 5:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 389
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 85 times
DO NOT do as you suggest, you might blow the LED's to bits.

Your question cannot be answered without seeing the other side of the luminaire to confirm - chances are it can't be done, it's probably all in that one gizmo, but what's on the other side of the fitting?

This is because there must be some electronics providing a constant low voltage current to the LED's, you cannot connect the mains directly to the lamp (X) circuit, the driver is most likely built in, but might not be..

And this is without getting to the question of whether the three wires marked LEN are in fact, switched. At the moment they must be live all the time (otherwise, how would the sensor work?) so turn the electricity off at the lighting trip in the Distribution Board before you touch anything. Remove the fitting from the ceiling and post pictures of the back, please.

For others, I attach the relevant pictures from your link:

Attachment:
vecocir_std_inside_wiring-1000x1000.jpg
vecocir_std_inside_wiring-1000x1000.jpg [ 87.93 KiB | Viewed 416 times ]


Attachment:
vecocir_microwave_sensor-1000x1000.jpg
vecocir_microwave_sensor-1000x1000.jpg [ 83.17 KiB | Viewed 416 times ]


Eterna could be wrong saying it can be bypassed - you could, easily, on a old sensor light but it ll depends on where the driver is located. I suppose we could alway fit another driver, you can get very small ones these days.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:46 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:27 pm
Posts: 389
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 85 times
Further to the previous reply, it would seem, from the Instruction Manual downloaded from OP's link, that the two square buttons to the left, in the bottom image, are "220v/240v Output" - shown in the bottom centre of Page 2 - this would indicate to me that there is a separate driver circuit somewhere, after that point.

If this is the case, then (leccy off first) moving the two wires on the right to the two terminals on the left (press the square button in then withdraw each wire in turn) will put 240 volts directly to the (X) lamp circuit. Keep red to red and blue to blue.

The two left hand wires withdrawn do not need to be reconnected as the microwave sensor will have been isolated. HOWEVER we still need to confirm the whereabouts of the Constant Current Driver, not shown in the manufacturer's images, just to be sure.

Take a picture/note of what you are doing / have done in case you want to reinstate the sensor later.



For this message the author arco_iris has received thanks - 2: mikehibbert, OnlyMe
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:42 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:16 pm
Posts: 40
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Hi I asked about the constant current driver and they confirmed this unit doesn’t have or need one. The wires go to a power source and then onto the lamp.
I’ve now done as I suggested and it works fine.
Thanks for the reply, we’ll worth an extra call to them and I’m glad it’s all working now.
Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:36 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2632
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 570 times
arco_iris wrote:
Further to the previous reply, it would seem, from the Instruction Manual downloaded from OP's link, that the two square buttons to the left, in the bottom image, are "220v/240v Output" - shown in the bottom centre of Page 2 - this would indicate to me that there is a separate driver circuit somewhere, after that point.


Just additional info now that the job is done.

Of course, as you said, there has to be a driver after the sensor or the LEDs would not work.

I would suspect that in this case the driver is probably part of the lamp and not a separate driver. Possibly something similar in style to (chosen at random from lots of LED lights) http://www.cp-lighting.co.uk/LED-2D-12W ... -White-GR8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO