DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:10 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:25 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 12:40 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi chaps
so I've recently moved into a new house, it has an old Scantronics 9600 alarm which appears to have no power (keypad is dead) and I've been told does not work by the previous owners.

Last weekend I finally had my fiber broadband installed. The Openreach engineer mentioned their was a foreign signle on the telephone line and recommended we didn't connect the telephone extensions in case it interfered with the line but that that the main broadband should not be affected. Anyway broadband went live but instead of 40mb download I'm getting under 2!

I reported the fault to my provider but they says it's all fine their end and are blaming my internal wiring, I suspect this is possibly being caused by auto dial in the burglar alarm but can anybody suggest how I can disconnect the alarm from the line? Is this something I need to do at the master socket or should I open the alarm control box and try to remove the connection from there? I'm not interested in keeping the alarm, i'll probably replace with a wireless system in time.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:54 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
Its not the alarm.
A scantronic 9600 can have a digital communicator fitted, IF it has it only uses the line when the alarm goes into alarm condition.
It has been known for the digital communicator to cause problems (very rare) and when it does, you can not use the phone line, since your phone line is working, it can not be the alarm.

Also, if, as you say you did NOT connect any of the extensions, how could the alarm affect the phone line if its not connected?

It may be you have a crushed phone line (internal) that is causing you problems.

If you STILL want to disconnect the phone line from the alarm (Assuming it is connected) its very easy.
The digital communicator plugs onto the main board, it has a phone line connected to it, you take the phone line off.
I don't have a 9600 here any more, so I will have to ask you to open the lid on yours, take a picture of it and post it here (That is the inside of the panel, not the lid) Then I can tell you exactly where the phone line is.

Posting picture info is in my signature

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : Ryles
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 6:08 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 12:40 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 0 times
thanks for the reply, how likely is the alarm to go off if I open the control panel? The thing looks dead but i'm not 100% sure and I have no ladders to reach the external bell.

I get your point it not being the alarm but likewise if it was a damaged internal line how could that affect the broadband if they are also not connected?

I will post a pic as soon as I can.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 6:38 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
If as you say the phone extensions are not connected then the problem is NOT at your premises.

Have you taken the front of your phone socket off? (the bottom part) as that is where anything / phone extensions should be connected to.

Attachment:
bts.jpg
bts.jpg [ 101.06 KiB | Viewed 546 times ]


Does your phone connection look like this one?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : Ryles
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:04 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue May 06, 2014 12:40 pm
Posts: 9
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi Plusnet finally admitted their was a fault on my connection and managed to fix it, it was as you said, nothing to do with the burglar alarm ::b

Thanks for the replies and the help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:06 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6980
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
:thumbright:

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO