DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:10 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:41 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi all, I've got an RF room stat and want to wire it to my boiler. I was 99% sure I had the right plan, but have now been given some more conflicting information so need to clarify it.


The boiler is a Unica 32 HE. Manual here, and pages 27 and 28 are the relevant ones:
http://cdn0.vokera.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/unica-he-installation-and-servicing-manual.pdf

My boiler currently has a mechanical clock installed, which I've confirmed is wired as per Fig 39 on page 27.


The RF stat is a Siemens RDJ10RF. Manual here, with page 10 showing the wiring diagram.
https://w3.siemens.co.uk/buildingtechnologies/uk/en/building-automation/residential-controls/documentation/Documents/RDJ10RF%20Data%20Sheet.pdf

Siemens video here, relevant bit at 3.26 (24v wiring) or 3.39 (240v wiring).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=O0pTT3qSejc

Here is a photo of the current boiler wiring with mechanical clock still installed:
http://tinypic.com/r/124ioaq/9

And the clock itself:
http://tinypic.com/r/k0r81l/9


I've removed the clock (black switch wires to A and C, and power from D and E in my photo above).

I've got an isolated L and N feed for the stat from outside the boiler, so that's fine.

I need to be able to confirm if I wire it up for 24v or 240v, but have been given conflicting information.

How can I confirm if I need to wire the stat for 240v or 24v? The boiler manual doesn't explicitly say. I'm going off the fact that the mechanical clock was 240v, and the stat is simply replacing the clock. However, I've also been told that the red and black wires into M5 are 24v not 240v, so I'm pretty confused - this seems to contradict the boiler manual. Keen to learn so will try to figure it out before paying someone to do it. Any advice much appreciated! Thanks.

Sorry, links aren't working...


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6662
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 1125 times
Page 9 (That you linked to) says

Operating voltage
AC 230 V +10/

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO