DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:51 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Boiler firing up issues
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:39 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:25 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi,

Hope you can help steer me in the right direction for this fault.

So I have a gravity fed heating system, with a Potterton Profile boiler, Drayton Lifestyle L711 Programmer and Drayton Combi-stat.
(Also Honeywell 3 port valve).

This has all been working well, however have had it switched off over the summer and when I've switched it back on the following happens:

Press Heating on button alone (on Drayton Programmer) = boiler does not fire up
Press Hot water on button alone = boiler does not fire up
Press both on together = boiler does not fire up
Switch either of them off (when set to on but boiler not firing) = boiler instantly fires up (every time)
Then I am able to switch the other one on and both heating and hot water work perfectly until they are turned off.

Just trying to diagnose if this fault lies with the programmer or boiler?

Hope someone may have seen this fault before and be able to advise?

Many thanks


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:30 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7869
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1336 times
Flip it on its head. :shock:

A boiler will only come on when its told to.
Since your boiler is working (ok, its working but at the wrong time) I can not see it being the boiler.
It has to be something to do with the controls, what, i have no idea.

Have you changed anything to with the boiler or its controls? any thing? new batteries? blown fuse, took it off to paint round it? anything?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:43 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:25 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for your help...

I was hoping it was potentially the programmer and not the boiler.

We haven't changed anything to do with the boiler or its controls.
We've not moved it or even touched it since we turned it off for the summer (used the immersion in the summer for hot water) - might have been wise to try it at some point!

Perhaps we could start by trying a new programmer, might be the cheapest place to start anyway?!

Thanks very much


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 8:42 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7869
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1336 times
Before you do that, what happens if you down power your programmer / factory default it? (You have nothing to lose) It may have even defaulted itself and needs setting up?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:39 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:25 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks very much

Tried all resets we can find this morning and still doing the same thing.

We are going to order a new programmer and try that, unless anyone else has any thoughts?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:18 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:25 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi,

Just to finish this post - a new programmer worked and solved the problem.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO