DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:46 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:55 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:24 pm
Posts: 44
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 0 times
I'm convinced the flow and return pipes to my boiler, which are connected to the cylinder, are either only partially insulated or are not insulated at all. Both pipes run underneath the floor which is made of, what looks to me like concrete. (see picture).

I have walked over this in bare feet and felt heat - this is why I reckon the pipes are either not insulated or are only partially insulated.

Clearly if I am to inspect the pipe I need to dig up the floor around the pipe.

What would be the best way of going about digging it up, insulating the pipe and then filling it back in again?


Attachments:
boiler flow pipe location.jpg
boiler flow pipe location.jpg [ 538.66 KiB | Viewed 490 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:19 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:03 pm
Posts: 6235
Has thanked: 699 times
Been thanked: 724 times
If the pipes are wrapped in something to protect them is the important thing, not how well insulated they are.

You don't want concrete, cement or screed touching the copper as over time it can eat into them.

_________________
Dave

www.drlgas.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:24 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:24 pm
Posts: 44
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 0 times
gas4you wrote:
If the pipes are wrapped in something to protect them is the important thing, not how well insulated they are.

You don't want concrete, cement or screed touching the copper as over time it can eat into them.



But if it ain't insulated then the water in the pipe is subject to heat loss... which I don't want. Boiler is less efficient.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:37 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7034
Has thanked: 345 times
Been thanked: 1227 times
flembot wrote:

But if it ain't insulated then the water in the pipe is subject to heat loss... which I don't want. Boiler is less efficient.


Yes, you're losing heat from the pipe; but it's going into the concrete floor which is then dissipating into your property - it's no different to underfloor heating.

I wouldn't worry about it.

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:13 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:24 pm
Posts: 44
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 0 times
ayjay wrote:
flembot wrote:

But if it ain't insulated then the water in the pipe is subject to heat loss... which I don't want. Boiler is less efficient.


Yes, you're losing heat from the pipe; but it's going into the concrete floor which is then dissipating into your property - it's no different to underfloor heating.

I wouldn't worry about it.



Yeah. But this is in the garage. Which doesn't have an insulated door.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:59 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6465
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 1075 times
Just wondering............

Question 1.
How much will it cost you to dig out the pipes, possibly replace them if you damage one / can't get everything off them, then insulate the pipes (existing or new) then re cement them in ?

Question 2.
How much do you figure you are losing by these pipes being as they are in concrete?

I understand why you want to do it, but will the cost of doing it be more than you are losing?

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO