DIY Forum

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Aug 02, 2014 1:22 am

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

Post subject: Best Trade To Learn?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:17 pm 
Newly registered Member

Hi, I would like to learn a trade in construction as I'm currently working my ass off in a warehouse and feel as though I'm stuck in one place with no advancing in life.

I'm quite skinny, 5ft11 and 127lbs, constant heavy lifting is a no-no. I have a diploma in Java programming and cert in Maths, both of which suck and I want nothing to do with them. Physical practice is appealing to me, whether that means playing an instrument or sport, good muscle memory - but crap with theoretical subjects, and have a low tolerance to arrogant assholes (the type of people who would usually work in an office), or men who only talk about breasts and football all their life.

Basically want a career which I enjoy, and which leaves me with some time to do other stuff in life with (in other words, decent pay with no need to work over-time).

So far I have:
1. Plastering - tried it, it's fun, good pay I think, not sure on how much in demand they are I never see any?
2. Plumbing - fun but a bitch when you get called back for a leakage, seems like there are lots of them.
3. Electrician - lots to learn, seems a bit harder than the others?
4. Carpentry or alarm fitting.

Where's good to start? Future proof? Possible self-employment? Thanks.

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

Post subject: Re: Best Trade To Learn?
PostPosted: Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:32 am 

Electrician should be simple for you if you can get your head round java. It has one main advantage over many trades. You need to be qualified to trade as one. Gas fitter is also good in this respect.