DIY Forum

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:28 pm
Visit Thermo worx

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:25 pm 
Newly registered Member

Hi,

Bit of a painting novice here looking for some advice on applying F&B exterior eggshell (No.26 Downpipe) to fascias, soffits and window frames. The wife is dead set on F&B but I'm going round in circles trying to find a decent solution for applying this (which will last and not flake off within a year or so)!

The exterior woodwork is currently covered with Sadolin Extra durable woodstain - Jacobean Walnut (I found an old tin in the garage that matches the colour on the house). It's in good(ish) condition on parts of the property, but quite a bit of the paint has peeled off on the south facing side.

I had planned to:
- Sand down the woodwork to remove any loose/flaky paint, greyed wood and take the sheen off the sadolin. Clean with cloth soaked in water or meths
- Apply 2 coats of dulux trade weathershield preservative primer (+BP) to any areas of bare wood (is it best to do this on the bits here and there that are bare, or can it be applied over the existing sadolin as well?)
- Apply 1 or 2 coats of dulux trade weathershield quick dry exterior undercoat (apply 2 if 1 coat doesn't seem to be sufficient). White or dark grey (or maybe a mix of both)
- Apply 1 top coat of F&B (hopefully 1 coat)
- Give it a light sand between coats

At first I thought the above would be okay as I was doing some prep and then sticking to water-based system for all coats, but on doing some more research I'm not so sure!