DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:03 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 3:13 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:55 am
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
looking at 8 core burglar alarm cables today.

I see i can buy screened or unscreened.

Not much cost difference but why should I need screened cables?

The old alarm system is a mixture of cat 5 and unscreened 6 core


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2018 4:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7936
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1356 times
Doesn't matter if its an alarm or not, the screen it to stop the cable picking up "spikes" or other radio waves that may effect what ever is at the other end (Alarm in this case)
Some panels you could wire everything in damp string if you wanted to, so long as the keypad was wired in screened cable it was happy. (Also seen lots that should be screened that are not screened) I wouldn't use it unless it MUST be used.

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : BSM-Williams
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 4:21 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:55 am
Posts: 11
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 times
someone-else wrote:
Doesn't matter if its an alarm or not, the screen it to stop the cable picking up "spikes" or other radio waves that may effect what ever is at the other end (Alarm in this case)
Some panels you could wire everything in damp string if you wanted to, so long as the keypad was wired in screened cable it was happy. (Also seen lots that should be screened that are not screened) I wouldn't use it unless it MUST be used.


Thanks for the reply and explanation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:14 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7936
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 1356 times
Happy to help. (never actually tried the damp string though, but the makers did say the panel is not fussy about the circuits, but very fussy about the data)

_________________
Fret not, a forum is a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link to find out more.

Working on anything electrical? have you got a multi meter? why not? Would you hit a nail with a shoe?

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:56 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:59 pm
Posts: 43
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
A bit of a late post but i was thinking of doing the same thing half a year ago as the idea of shielded alarm cable sounded great. I originally had 6 core alarm cable, then upgraded it to shielded and this is where the issues started happening. False alarms etc, when i asked the alarm manu (texecom) they said shielded alarm cable was not supported.

I ended up falling back on non shielded but left the shielded cable in place.

Just a heads up to test first

i am unsure why it triggers the zones but i was in a rush i just wanted the floorboards down and carpet in.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:17 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2696
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 166 times
Been thanked: 581 times
I cannot see how shielded cable would cause a problem with a detector as they are solid state devices.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:00 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:59 pm
Posts: 43
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 times
OnlyMe wrote:
I cannot see how shielded cable would cause a problem with a detector as they are solid state devices.


indeed as its just shielded later wraped around. texecom just said no not supported use the texecom cable which is standard non shielded. Doesnt bother me as i left the cable there so can always switch back if i ever change or if i go back to test.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

 

 




Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO