DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:32 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:33 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:00 am
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi all.

I wish to fit a Philips Hue Lightstip above the cupboards in my kitchen, and had hoped to fit a new 3 pin socket for this. There is already wiring above the cupboards that powers 2 Low Voltage bulbs that are inside the cupboards - these are the 2 cables in the picture, left/grey and bottom/white. The in-cupboard lights run off small transformers and are controlled by a wall mounted light switch on the far end of the kitchen.

The two grey cables at the top are coming out of the kitchen wall - I am not sure why there are two?

I guess the 3 wire one is the Ring?

I wish to add a 3 pin socket on a short cable to the existing junction.

Is it as basic as connecting Earth to Striped Earth, Live to Red, and Neutral to Black?

My only other issue is that the Philips Hue lights are best left powered on at all times, to facilitate remote operation/mood lighting etc - we already have a number of Hue bulbs in other rooms of the house. If I add to this existing wiring then the in-cupboard lights will also need to be powered on at all times - which I don't really want. Is there a way of avoiding this?

If I can't do this easily, and also without having cupboard lights permanently powered on, I will trail the Hue power cable over the end of the cupboard and plug it into the mains socket above the countertop - not elegant.

Thanks in advance for advice and suggestions.


Attachments:
Cupboard wiring.jpg
Cupboard wiring.jpg [ 183.2 KiB | Viewed 354 times ]
Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2018 5:51 am 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6983
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
You are correct in regard of what colour goes where, but you will have to leave the under cupboard lights on 24/7 as you only have live, neutral and earth, and FWIW its NOT a ring, its a radial, sockets are usually wired in a ring. How ever, I can offer a solution.
I am guessing you have not heard of a "sonoff" device. You could buy one, connect it to the cable you have (as well as what you want for you hue strip), then connect the under cupboard lights to the sonoff.
A sonoff can be controlled by your phone the same way your hue lamps can. Also a sonoff can be controlled by "Alexa / google" (same as your hue lamps can) and the best bit a sonoff is around £6. No special hub required. (But it can only switch on or off, maybe thats why its called S(switch) on off :-) ) it would be ideal for your under cupboard lights.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:10 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:00 am
Posts: 2
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks a lot for the reply and information.

I shall look into the Sonoff device.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:03 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6983
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1182 times
Do that, don't pay more than £7 for one, I have only the one but it is good.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO