DIY Forum

 

Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:56 am
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Accenta 8 Mini Question
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:50 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:41 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi

I've moved house and now I've got an Accenta 8 Mini alarm.

It seems to work well but I'd like to change/add a couple of zones in program 2.

The documents I've found online don't seem to help me do this.
One says to press Prog, enter your engineer code and all the zones should light up.
That happens and tamper is also lite.

It then says to press Prog again, when I try that I get a beep and nothing else happens.

Anyone know how to do this properly ?

Thanks


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:33 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
It sounds like you do not have the engineer code.

You either need to find it, or default it.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:28 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:41 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks. I may speak to a local alarm company and get them to sort it out.

I'm not sure how to default it and then reprogram the alarm!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 12:34 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
Its in the (engineers) manual.

..............but some times it is best to leave it to those who are familiar with said product, I would suggest you ask them first if they are familiar with your panel. (Most alarm companies have a favourite panel or two that they install, and anything else they may struggle with)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:54 am 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:41 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Thanks for the advice. We were told it was the same code to do everything.

I'm can do a walk test etc using this code.. I need to reset the user code, I assume I need the engineer code to do this.

Can anyone recommend an engineer in the north west, Fylde coast area ?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:32 am 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7684
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 1303 times
MadTom wrote:
Thanks for the advice. We were told it was the same code to do everything.


You were told wrong.

An intruder alarm panel has a minimum of two codes. One is the "master code" the other is the "engineers code"
Think about it, if it was just one code, how would you programme it in the first place?


MadTom wrote:
I'm can do a walk test etc using this code.. I need to reset the user code, I assume I need the engineer code to do this.

You do not need the engineer code to change the master code, the master code can change the master code (Read the manual) the engineers code can default the master code if it has been lost.

MadTom wrote:
Can anyone recommend an engineer in the north west, Fylde coast area ?

Probably not. The "problem" with forums is there are so few regular posters and the country is so big, its unlikely some one is close enough to be able to physically help.
As I said before, call a couple of alarm companies, be honest with them and say you have a "Accenta 8 Mini alarm" do they know anything about them. (its not hard to download a manual for most panels, but some panels do have their unique "quirks" that only a regular user would know of.)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 10:00 am 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2632
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 165 times
Been thanked: 570 times
https://www.security.honeywell.com/uk/d ... gineer.pdf

I suggest trying 9999 as it is the default engineers code. If it has been altered then it shows you how to do a factory reset.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Solent plastics


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO