DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 3:05 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:10 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:01 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 3 times
Hello there.

I was looking through some posts here and it seems like there's some helpful people so I thought I'd ask my own question.

I want to put 3 batten lights up in my garage, all to be powered by one light switch by the door. I'ts been a long time since I studied electrics at college so I wanted to check if my wiring plans were correct.

Here's a diagram I whipped up:

Image

Would it work? Is there a better/more efficient way to wire it up?

Many thanks

Ryan


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+

For this message the author rustylad has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:45 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6326
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 1045 times
Yes it will work, but a waste of cable.

If you really want 3 batten holders, wire the first one as per your drawing, then loop the 2nd one from the first one, and then loop the third one from the 2nd one.

It may also be that you have "forgotten" more than you think. You have drawn florescent lights and called them battens.
You should also supply them from a 6A MCB

Image

Above is a batten holder


Image

Above is a florescent

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received thanks - 2: multiman, rustylad
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:03 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:01 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 3 times
@someone-else

Thanks for your reply. I was just going off the names on Screwfix as that's where I bought the gear from. http://www.screwfix.com/c/electrical-lighting/battens/cat3640003

Many thanks

Ryan

Edit:

To clarify, is this what you meant?

Image

Edit 2:

On second thoughts, no that doesn't look right. :dunno:



For this message the author rustylad has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:34 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6326
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 1045 times
But it is right, although it may be easier to loop in and out the same end of the light.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:39 pm 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19433
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 621 times
Been thanked: 1756 times
have you thought about area lighting ??
as in two or three switches allowing one two or three light in use :dunno:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:07 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:01 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 3 times
@someone-else

So those connector blocks for the neutrals are in the right places? I didn't think lights 1 & 2 would work because there's nothing in their neutral terminals.

@big-all

The garage isn't really big enough to worry about that. Besides, how many more questions do you think I'd have if you threw more switches into the mix? :wink:

Many thanks

Ryan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:15 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6326
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 1045 times
I figured you would be using the choc blocs in the lights, guess I figured wrong.

You loop in and out of each lights connections. The only "extra" choc bloc needed is at the switch.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:20 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:01 pm
Posts: 4
Has thanked: 1 times
Been thanked: 3 times
@someone-else

Thanks for the help. :thumbleft:



For this message the author rustylad has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 5:24 pm 
Offline
Approved Electrician

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:01 pm
Posts: 2302
Location: South Yorkshire
Has thanked: 131 times
Been thanked: 472 times
someone-else wrote:
Yes it will work, but a waste of cable.

If you really want 3 batten holders, wire the first one as per your drawing, then loop the 2nd one from the first one, and then loop the third one from the 2nd one.

It may also be that you have "forgotten" more than you think. You have drawn florescent lights and called them battens.
You should also supply them from a 6A MCB

Image

Above is a batten holder


Image

Above is a florescent


The correct name for a fluorescent is actually "batten holder".



For this message the author OnlyMe has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO