DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIRECTORY | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:29 pm


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 2 way 2 gang switches
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:41 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:11 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Hi,

I am trying to fit two new '2 way 2 gang' light switches to replace the existing switches that control the downstairs hall light and upstairs landing light.

At present there is a '2 way 2 gang' light switch down stairs and a '2 way 1 gang' light switch upstairs, so at present I can operate the upstairs landing light from both the upstairs and downstairs switches, but can only operate the downstairs hall light from the downstairs switch.

In each switch box there is two sets or red and black wires (the black wires all have red electrical tape round them) and the earth wires.

Please see the picture below, on the left is how the switches are currently wired, and on the right is the two new switches and how the wiring appears now i have disconnected it from the old switches.

Attachment:
File comment: wiring
wiring.jpg
wiring.jpg [ 36.63 KiB | Viewed 5495 times ]


So, at present in the downstairs '2 way 2 gang' switch there is a red wire that goes into 'Com' with the corresponding black wire going into L2 but on the opposite gang. The other red and black wires go into L1 and L2 respectively, on the same gang as the first red wire. There is then a short red wire connecting both 'Coms'.

Then in the upstairs '2 way 1 gang' switch there is a red wire that goes into 'Com' with the corresponding black wire not attached to anything. The other red and black wires go into L2 and L1 respectively.

As such could someone please advise me if it is possible to change the switches so that they are both '2 way 2 gang' so I can opearte both lights from both the upstairs and downstairs switches. If so, please could you also explain how to configure the wiring.

I hope this makes sense.

Many thanks,

Steve


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
 

You may not be able to see the full post including pictures unless you register or log in

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:12 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 15029
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 582 times
Been thanked: 1643 times
Can't be done with the wiring you've got..

_________________
Verwood Handyman
___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:51 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:11 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Wineo thanks for your reply. What would I require? And would it be a big job?

Cheers
Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:56 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 15029
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 582 times
Been thanked: 1643 times
At the very least, 3 core and earth from one switch to the other. (Probably 2 of these)

Depending on how your consumer unit is configured, you may need further alterations.

_________________
Verwood Handyman
___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:04 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:11 pm
Posts: 3
Has thanked: 0 times
Been thanked: 0 times
Would this be an easy task for an electrician or would it require making a mess of the walls?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:46 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 15029
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 582 times
Been thanked: 1643 times
almost certainly some chasing out of walls required (Unless your wiring is already in conduit, which is Unlikely)

Main problem would be how the lighting circuit is split between upstairs/downstairs..

_________________
Verwood Handyman
___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 



Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ericmark and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 



phpBB SEO