DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Thu May 24, 2018 6:24 pm
Visit Hilti


Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:31 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:05 pm
Posts: 54
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Hi

Can you use a 1g 2way led dimmer switch and keep the other switch as a regular non dimmable on off switch.

Or do i need to get a 1g 2way led dimmer switch for the second switch side? Not concerned about the second switch side dimming capabilities just as long as it can turn on and off, just want the first switch to be able to do the dimmable job.


Thanks


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:50 pm 
Online
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 23429
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1421 times
Been thanked: 3659 times
1 dimmer 1 normal switch is the only way to go. Just make sure the dimmer is the correct type and rating for whatever lights you have.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:03 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 7364
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 1248 times
:withstupid:

Funnily enough, two dimmers do not work together. (You have to have master and slave units to do that)

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:44 pm 
Offline
Newly registered Member

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:05 pm
Posts: 54
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 2 times
got it, thank you.

reading so much with new home automation products, switches/dimmers/master slave etc etc, i think i just got a little confused.!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO