DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:05 am
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 16 amp socket in garage
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:27 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 212
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Hi guys
Since having a new consumer unit fitted in my house my mug welder now constantly trips with initial power source (damn new electric set up making things all safe)
Anyway is there a way I can add a 16amp socket in my garage relatively easily?
It's not a big welder only a 105.

Current setup is garage has its own fuse on consumer unit that is rcd protected.
Garage is detached and cable runs under floor to an inline fuse in the garage itself that then powers 3 strip lights and 3 double sockets.
I can't really change the existing cable or run a new one due to oak flooring in concrete floors.

Cheers


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:51 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
Pic of your garage consumer unit please ??

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:00 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
And details of welder model may help as well

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:26 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 212
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Sorry I don't think I was overly clear.
Garage doesn't have its own consumer unit, it has its own switch/fuse on the house consumer unit (so it's not part of the house ring circuit or a spur etc)
The wire then runs to the garage from the consumer unit and has a single inline fuse, the type that you turn on and off like a light switch. Then wires run from this to the lights and sockets.

Welder is a sip 105 migmate mig welder.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:38 pm 
Offline
BANNED

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:38 am
Posts: 204
Has thanked: 696 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Right so looking at manual that should not demand more than 6amps seems like you have faulty welder or electric wiring issue have you tried welder inside house to see if it trips on that circuit ?

Sent from my LG-K100 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:16 pm 
Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:26 pm
Posts: 212
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times
No
I'll try that first then.
Thanks



For this message the author ashleywood.ash has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:23 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22411
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1337 times
Been thanked: 3402 times
6A welder is not so hot. What breaker do you have in the CU for the garage circuit ?

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/



For this message the author wine~o has received gratitude : multiman
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 9:43 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 3:43 am
Posts: 2431
Location: North Wales
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 507 times
I would think 105 is output amps rule of thumb output is 25 volt plus 1 volt per 25 amp so likely 29 volt so simple maths 29 x 105 = 3045 / 230 = 13.24 amp. This is with no loses and not counting inrush. So if what I say is correct if an inverter welder it may just about work on a 13 amp outlet, if however the old transformer type a D16 MCB is the smallest MCB which could supply it.

In the main a supply to a garage is just about enough to run a few lights and a drill, my mothers garage if fed from the ring final with a 13A FCU. I can't quite work out what you have, but is seems likely you need a dedicated supply for a welder.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Visit Hilti


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO