DIY Forum

 

Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate Handyman Ultimate HandymanUltimate Handyman on Pinterest

 

DIY Forum/Home improvement advice forum

 

 

A-Z CONTENTS | DISCLAIMER | DIY VIDEO | HOME | SAFETY FIRST | FORUM RULES

It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 7:30 pm
Visit Thermo worx


Time zone: Europe/London




 

 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:26 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7348
Has thanked: 363 times
Been thanked: 1308 times
I've got a 13 amp switched double socket in my hallway, it's behind a Welsh dresser, one half has my main land-line phone permanently plugged into it and the other has a short diy extension lead leading to a surface mounted double socket which is accessible just to the side of the dresser. The diy extension has a paper shredder permanently plugged into it and the other half gets used for the Hoover when necessary.

A couple of weeks ago the shredder stopped working. I tried it in another socket elsewhere and it was fine. The phone was still on.

I pulled out the dresser, unplugged the extension and tried the shredder direct in the double socket behind the dresser, it didn't work, the phone, plugged into the other half of that double socket was still on. I unplugged the phone, and as I did so the shredder started up, (there was a piece of paper sat in it). Wiggling the phone plug caused the shredder to sometimes work and sometimes not.

I've had to wait for a good time to turn the power off if necessary(is there ever one?) and so this morning I pulled out the dresser again and unscrewed the socket from the wall, (still live) I checked that the connections were tight, the earth took about a half turn to tighten up but that was all, everything else was good. The switch on the socket for the phone turns on and off but the other switch seems to be stuck on.

Everything now appears to be working as it should be, but all I've done is given a half turn to the screw to tighten the earth wire, would a very slightly loose earth wire cause an intermittent problem like that or is it likely to be something else?

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on DiggShare on DeliciousShare on Google+
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:30 am 
Offline
Pro Carpenter
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:11 pm
Posts: 19945
Location: redhill surrey an auld reekie laddie
Has thanked: 652 times
Been thanked: 1846 times
would say something else as it would have to be wired up very wrong for an earth wire to make any difference :dunno:

_________________
we are all ------------------still learning



For this message the author big-all has received gratitude : ayjay
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:36 am 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:58 pm
Posts: 2974
Has thanked: 763 times
Been thanked: 343 times
A guy on YouTube named Thomas Nagy (very good) said everytime you reconnect a wire to a socket you should cut the end of the old piece, strip a new piece in and reattach. He said because the wire. He sad the reason is the wire gets crushed and sometimes it works loose causing an intermittent fault. Just an idea.



For this message the author Argyll has received gratitude : ayjay
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:00 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6965
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1178 times
Change the whole socket.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:06 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7348
Has thanked: 363 times
Been thanked: 1308 times
big-all wrote:
would say something else as it would have to be wired up very wrong for an earth wire to make any difference :dunno:


That's what I thought.

Argyll wrote:
A guy on YouTube named Thomas Nagy (very good) said everytime you reconnect a wire to a socket you should cut the end of the old piece, strip a new piece in and reattach. He said because the wire. He sad the reason is the wire gets crushed and sometimes it works loose causing an intermittent fault. Just an idea.


It's been OK (and completely untouched) for several years. Nothing's been reconnected, just two 13 amp plug tops inserted into the existing socket a long time ago.

someone-else wrote:
Change the whole socket.


I have it in mind to do just that: but why?

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:37 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:49 pm
Posts: 22911
Location: hants/dorset border
Has thanked: 1389 times
Been thanked: 3546 times
Have you checked the plug on the shredder ??? could just be a dodgy connection there.

_________________
Verwood Handyman

Verwood Handyman


___________________________________________________________________

If you feel you have benefited from the Free advice given on the Forum, Please consider making a donation to UHM's Nominated charity, read all about it and donate here :

http://www.donnasdreamhouse.co.uk/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:40 pm 
Online
Senior Member

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 6965
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 1178 times
ayjay wrote:

someone-else wrote:
Change the whole socket.


I have it in mind to do just that: but why?


Because you also said

ayjay wrote:
The switch on the socket for the phone turns on and off but the other switch seems to be stuck on.

_________________
Take it easy, a forum is only a collection of opinions. Above, are mine.

Which is correct? Metre or Meter? Click the link. to find out more.

No such thing as "Thou shalt put this wire here, Thou shalt put that wire there" .............Take a picture BEFORE you do the job.

If gloom had a voice, it would be me. :mrgreen:

:idea1: How to post a picture on this forum Click here



For this message the author someone-else has received gratitude : ayjay
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 13 amp socket
PostPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 7348
Has thanked: 363 times
Been thanked: 1308 times
wine~o wrote:
Have you checked the plug on the shredder ??? could just be a dodgy connection there.


The shredder works fine in any other socket, (and it's still working in the old one at the moment).

I'll get a new socket sometime over the next few days and fit it - leccy off! :-)

I might even get around to changing the shaver socket in the bathroom when the leccy is turned off.

I think I must have had the new one about 6 or 7 years, :oops: but I don't use it, I've got a beard, (and so has the wife now). :mrgreen:

_________________
One day it will all be firewood.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Similar topics
   

Time zone: Europe/London


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


 

 

 

News News Site map Site map SitemapIndex SitemapIndex RSS Feed RSS Feed Channel list Channel list
ultimatehandyman privacy policy

Contact

 

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

phpBB SEO